Women's Tennis

Tennis Earns Third Seed In Upcoming A-10 Championship Tournament

Sonia Bokhari and the Minutewomen enter the A-10 Tournament as the No. 3 seed.

Sonia Bokhari and the Minutewomen enter the A-10 Tournament as the No. 3 seed.

April 16, 2013

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - After posting a 14-5 overall record and a 6-1 mark in dual matches against conference opponents, the UMass tennis team has been seeded third overall in the upcoming Atlantic 10 Tennis Championship Tournament in Charlottesville, Va. The Minutewomen will take on 14th-seeded Dayton on Thursday, April 18 at Noon.

For the second straight year, the Atlantic 10 Championship Tournament will be held at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville. Last year, the Minutewomen entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed before battling Richmond in the Championship match with the Spiders winning on the final point.

The winner of the UMass/Dayton match will face the winner of #6 George Washington/#11 Saint Joseph's on Friday afternoon.

Seeds Set for 2013 Women's Tennis Championship
Rams Claim Top Seed in 30th Annual Atlantic 10 Women's Tennis Championship

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Playing for their first chance at the Atlantic 10 title, the VCU Rams have earned the top seed in the 30th Annual Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Tennis Championship, to be held April 18-21 at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va., for the second straight year.

The Rams, who are riding a nine-match win streak and have won 11 out of their last 12, look to take home a second consecutive conference title and make their 14th trip to the NCAA tournament. Under the direction of coach Paul Kostin, VCU finished the regular season 18-4 and heads into the A-10 Championship ranked 38th by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The Rams will face 16th-seeded La Salle in the first round on Thursday.

Xavier finished its spring season with a 17-5 overall record and went undefeated (9-0) against conference opponents to earn the second seed in this year's Championship. The Musketeers have been led by freshman standout, Alex Brinker, who has posted 20 consecutive singles victories this spring. Xavier will take on the 15th-seeded St. Bonaventure for the second time in a week in their first round match.



The 2012 Championship finalists Massachusetts and Richmond, earned this year's third and fourth seeds, respectively. The Minutewomen have won their last four matches and finished with an overall record of 14-5. Massachusetts will play the 14 seed Dayton on Thursday. The Spiders, who claimed their fourth-straight conference title in 2012, will face 13th-seeded Butler in Thursday's morning session.

Rounding out the 16-team field are Charlotte (fifth), George Washington (sixth), Fordham (seventh), Saint Louis (eighth), Temple (ninth), Duquesne (10th), Saint Joseph's (11th), Rhode Island (12th), Butler (13th), Dayton (14th), St. Bonaventure (15th) and La Salle (16th).

Each of the A-10's 16 teams will begin competition on Thursday, April 18 at 9:00am, with the final matches of the first round slated to start at 6:00pm. Quarterfinal matches will be played Friday, April 19 at 10:00am and 1:00pm. Semifinal action commences with the final four teams on Saturday, April 20 at 10:00am, while the championship finale is set for Sunday, April 21 at 10:00am. The A-10 Women's Tennis Championship features a four-day, single-elimination format. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference's automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, visit the league's online home - atlantic10.com.

2013 Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Tennis Championship Seeds
George Washington
Saint Louis
Saint Joseph's
Rhode Island
St. Bonaventure
La Salle

All-Time Atlantic 10 Women's Tennis Champions Year - School
2012 - Richmond
2011 - Richmond
2010 - Richmond
2009 - Richmond
2008 - Temple
2007 - Richmond
2006 - Richmond
2005 - Richmond
2004 - Richmond
2003 - Temple
2002 - Richmond
2001 - Massachusetts
2000 - Virginia Tech
1999 - Virginia Tech
1998 - Virginia Tech
1997 - Virginia Tech
1996 - Virginia Tech
1995 - Temple
1994 - Temple
1993 - George Washington
1992 - George Washington
1991 - Penn State
1990 - Penn State
1989 - Penn State
1987 - Penn State
1986 - Penn State
1985 - Penn State
1984 - George Washington
1983 - Penn State

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago