Women's Tennis

 
Q & A With Former Women's Tennis Player Dorothy Iwanowicz

Senior Co-Captain Dorothy Iwanowicz

Senior Co-Captain Dorothy Iwanowicz

April 11, 2006

Q: What are you studying here at school?
A: I'm studying microbiology, and I am actually staying here for one more year to do the fifth year masters.

Q: How do you balance your school work and tennis?
A: I know exactly when we have matches and practices which we have to look at first and schedule our classes around it, especially in the spring because we practice in the morning. We can't take morning classes and then we have to be out in the afternoon because we have conditioning.

Q: What do you do about school work when you are on the road?
A: I just make sure that whatever needs to be done or is due the next day is always done and any free time I have I study ahead of time. I also have to let all my teachers know when I am going to be away so they will let me make up exams, because if I don't let them know I'll be away, I'm in trouble.

Q: What do you miss most from home when you are at school?
A: Home cooked meals, I hate cooking on my own. Being able to get my laundry done and my family obviously, but I have a good time with the team.

Q: What is your most memorable moment in tennis?
A: My sophomore and junior years I had really good years. I won All-Conference my sophomore year and I was really playing well. Also beating Richmond last year was the best feeling ever.

Q: What made you become a tennis player?
A: When I was five my dad was playing at the time and he took me out there, so I guess I just caught on really quickly and it just worked out.

Q: What do you do in the off season to stay in shape?
A: I usually just run and work out at the gym and lift weights. Our team usually has a schedule from our coach but I would do it no matter what just to stay in shape. It makes it so much harder to come back if you haven't done anything.

Q: Is there anyone in tennis that you look up to?
A: A senior that graduated last year, Sasha. She was from Israel and she had been on the team since I got here. I just always looked up to the way that she played on the court and always fought hard.

Q: Is there one team that you look forward to play against the most?
A: Temple is always exciting to play. They are right there with us and on the same level so we go into the game nervous and we just want to win so badly. Richmond also, because they just have a really unpleasant crowd that stands on the side and makes bad comments to us, so when we beat them it just makes it so much better and its always rewarding.

Q: What do you like most about UMass?
A: I love my department and I love what I do, I wouldn't change that for the world. I'm doing research right now and I really love my teachers too, they are also inspiring. The tennis team too, obviously, we just all get along so well and there are never any fights or tension.

Q: Did you play any other sports as a kid?
A: I did basketball and soccer because my dad wanted me to do more fitness but it's always been mainly tennis, it's always been at the top and come first.

Q: Where do you hope to see yourself in five years?
A: I want to be working at a research company doing medical research, but not necessarily be a doctor. Just the behind the scenes stuff, like cancer research and stuff like that. Hopefully I'll be working somewhere in Boston because they have really good companies there.

Q: Outside of sports what is your greatest accomplishment?
A: Just being here because my parents came from Poland and we got here when I was five. So just doing as well as I've done in a new country, Poland didn't have that much to offer me. I came here and am able to get a good education and my masters.

Q: What do you like to do in your free time?
A: I like to hang out with my friends and my boyfriend. I go home to see my family. I just try to have fun because I don't get to see my friends that often, so I make the most of it.

 

 

GET YOUR OFFICIAL
UMASS GEAR HERE

    Event Calendar

    Thursday, Apr 24
    vs Dayton 9:00 AM
    Friday, Apr 25
    vs A-10 Quarterfinals TBA
    Saturday, Apr 26
    vs A-10 Semifinals TBA
    Sunday, Apr 27
    vs A-10 Championship TBA
    Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago