Women's Tennis

 
Q & A With Former Women's Tennis Player Jana Bartoloni

Jana Bartolni has enjoyed a solid four-year career.

Jana Bartolni has enjoyed a solid four-year career.

April 11, 2006

Q: What's your major and what is the workload like? How do you balance that with practice?
A: I'm a sociology major with a criminal justice track. I have a lot of work, but you find time to do it. Sometimes it's hard when you miss a lot of classes and you have to catch up with your work. You just try to talk to teachers and sometimes they are understanding. I get my work done and keep my grades up.

Q: What's your favorite sport to play or watch outside of tennis?
A: I love football. The NFL, the Pats are my favorite, I'm from Boston so you know.

Q: What do you like to do with your spare time?
A: Just sit around the house, relax, watch TV, and hang out with people. I don't have a lot of time because with tennis and school I have no time to do anything, so when I do find time, I just like to relax and forget about everything.

Q: Does your family attend a lot of your matches?
A: Yeah, my parents are really all about coming to everything, whatever matches they can. They come to a lot. They're coming to the A-10's; they came last year. They're supporters of everything.

Q: What made you decide to come to UMass?
A: Well, I really wanted to play tennis in school; I was looked at by other schools like Tufts, which is Division III, as well as Central Connecticut State University. Then I met one of my old coaches, who was really good friends with Judy (Dixon, head coach). He played on the men's team here and he introduced me to Judy and told me about her and the program. Then I visited campus and I just decided UMass would be a good fit. They had a good program. I was all about playing (Division I); tennis was my first priority in college, then came the grades. I just wanted to play tennis when I went to school, and I had to go to a college where I could play competitive tennis. I got recruited here so, it worked out.

Q: Do you want people to remember you at as a student or an athlete?
A: As an athlete. I want people to remember me as someone who always gave 110% on the court. I'd always fight on the court, run down every ball, and give my all.

Q: What is your favorite tennis moment?
A: When we were in the A-10's last year, in our final match, I played doubles for the first time. That was a big thing for me because I finally got over my fear of playing doubles and ended up winning with my partner. It was a big win for us; we were down and then we won. Then in my singles match, I had previously lost to this girl the last time we played Richmond. But I bounced back and beat her in straight sets in the A-10 (championships).

Q: What's your favorite type of music?
A: I love country music like Rascal Flats, Toby Keith, and Tim McGraw. I am a big fan of Rascal Flats. I just went to their concert out here (when they came to campus); it was actually my first (country concert). I became a country fan about three years ago from one of my roommates, she got me hooked.

Q: What kind of food do you like to eat?
A: I'm Italian so I love Italian food (such as pizza, and pasta lasagna). I eat a lot of junk food too, which isn't good.

Q: What's your favorite restaurant?
A: I like the chain restaurants like Chili's, Friday's, all those places. I'm very picky so I usually get the same thing every time I go. Back home, when I go to the Cape in the summer, I like to go to this place called Clancy's. It's the best food ever. They have everything you can possibly think if; it's so good. It's my favorite restaurant. They have everything: sandwiches, special entrées, etc.

Q: What would you consider your best UMass moment or something that has stood out to you while you were here?
A: I've grown a lot here on this team, I started off as this freshman who was nervous to play and hit the ball. I was a little intimidated by people; I got kind of scared at matches and choked. Once I finally grew and started to win matches and playing really well, you could see that every year I made an improvement. I've grown a lot from freshman year until now.

Q: What's your favorite TV show?
A: Very typically, the OC. I'm not a big fan of the reality shows; I like the acting and such.

Q: What's your most memorable childhood memory?
A: Spending weekends in Montreal. My family and I would rent a big suite and just hang out while spending the weekend. We'd go to fancy restaurants.

Q: Are you superstitious at all?
A: I'm not very superstitious; I tend to wear the same baseball cap when I play, or the same bandana. But that's about it. I do the same ritual when I'm actually playing. When I'm serving, I bounce the ball three times and then I serve. Other than that, nothing really.

Q: What's your biggest fear?
A: Spiders! I can't stand them. They creep me out. I used to freak out when I was three years old. I would yell down to my father at 3 o'clock in the morning; he'd have to come up and kill the spider on the wall because I couldn't sleep.

 

 

GET YOUR OFFICIAL
UMASS GEAR HERE

    Event Calendar

    Friday, Oct 31
    at Big Green Invitational All Day
    Saturday, Nov 1
    at Big Green Invitational All Day
    Sunday, Nov 2
    at Big Green Invitational All Day
    Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago