Women's Swimming

Women's Swimming And Diving Picked To Finish Third In A-10 Preseason Poll

Women's head coach Bob Newcomb will be looking to get his team at least back to third this season.

Women's head coach Bob Newcomb will be looking to get his team at least back to third this season.

Oct. 17, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - The UMass women's swimming and diving teams have been selected to finish third in the Atlantic 10 by the leagues head coaches. The Minutewomen are predicted to finish behind two-time defending champion Richmond and runner-up Fordham.

At last seasons conference championship, behind head coach Bob Newcomb, the Minutewomen were able to finish in fourth-place with a score of 434. They came in behind the champion Richmond (751), Fordham (557), La Salle (476). Coming in after the women were Rhode Island (257), Duquesne (256), St. Bonaventure (249.5), Xavier (245), George Washington (233.5), Saint Louis (174).

The women medaled in nine times at last seasons conference championship, six of which from individual events.

Senior Michaela Butler led the way winning both the one- and three-meter dives, en route to being named the 2012 Diver of the Year. Senior Molly Elkins came in just behind her, grabbing two silver medals.

Sophomores Zoe Judd and Katie Arnott both grabbed bronze in their first collegiate conference championship. Judd medaled in the 200-yard freestyle relay, while Arnott took third in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Rounding out the rest of the preseason poll is La Salle (4), Duquesne (5), St. Bonaventure (6), George Washington and Rhode Island (T-7), while Xavier, Saint Louis and Butler, new to the A-10, round out the 11-team field.

The Minutewomen opened their season last weekend at Boston University, falling to the Terriers 177-118. They are back in the pool for their home opener on Friday, October 19 as they take on Army.

2012-13 Women's Swimming And Diving Preseason Coaches Poll

(2012 Championship results in parenthesis)
1. Richmond (1)
2. Fordham (2)
3. Massachusetts (4)
4. La Salle (3)
5. Duquesne (6)
6. St. Bonaventure (7)
7. George Washington (9)
8. Rhode Island (5)
9. Xavier (8)
10. Saint Louis (10)
11. Butler (Horizon League, 8)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago