Women's Rowing

Five From UMass Rowing Honored With A-10 Year-End Awards

Jim Dietz received his eighth Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year Award on Sunday.

Jim Dietz received his eighth Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year Award on Sunday.

May 4, 2014

FAIRFAX STATION, Va. - Five members of the UMass rowing program were honored when the Atlantic 10 Conference announced its year-end award recipients on Sunday afternoon, highlighted by head coach Jim Dietz's eighth A-10 Coach of the Year laurel. Marika Kopp, Candace Miller and Taryn Wilson each received a spot on the Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team while Lauren St. Pierre earned A-10 All-Conference Second Team.

Dietz tallied the coach of the year award after he led the Minutewomen to their 14th Atlantic 10 Championship on Sunday finished with 52 points to best Rhode Island (50) and Saint Joseph's (36). Previously, Dietz was the A-10 Coach of the Year in 1996-99 and 2003-05.

Kopp, Miller and Wilson took home Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team after they helped the Varsity 8+ boat notched a gold medal finish at the conference's championship regatta, hosted at the Occoquan Reservoir. The Varsity 8+ crossed the finish line in 7:26.00, more than five second ahead of second place Rhode Island. It marked the first career all-conference honors for Kopp and Miller. Wilson was placed on the A-10 All-Conference First Team as a junior in 2013.

St. Pierre tallied second team laurels as a member of the undefeated Varsity 8+ Boat. It also marked her first all-conference award as a Minutewoman.

UMass rowing continues its spring campaign at the Dad Vail Regatta in Philadelphia, Pa., from May 9-10 ahead of the NCAA Championships on May 30-June 1 in Indianapolis, Ind.

Atlantic 10 First Team All-Conference
Katelyn Reynolds, Senior, Dayton
Regina Dutz, Senior, Duquesne
Katelyn Lakes, Senior, Fordham
Bethany Grim, Senior, George Washington
Marika Kopp, Junior, Massachusetts
Candace Miller, Senior, Massachusetts
Taryn Wilson, Senior, Massachusetts
Kate Capistran, Junior, Rhode Island
Lindsay Stephenson, Senior, Rhode Island
Myra McCann, Senior, Saint Joseph's
Amanda McEvoy, Junior, Saint Joseph's



Second Team All-Conference
Fiona Murtagh, Sophomore, Fordham
Cassie Robbins, Senior, George Mason
Megan Culberson, Senior, George Washington
Sarah Pickus, Senior, George Washington
Bernadette Stanko, Senior, La Salle
Lauren St. Pierre, Senior, Massachusetts
Chelsea Paulin, Senior, Rhode Island
Meghan Sickinger, Senior, Rhode Island
Maura Mahoney, Sophomore, Saint Joseph's

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago