Women's Rowing

Women's Rowing Wins In New Hampshire

UMass Varsity Eight Wins In New Hampshire

UMass Varsity Eight Wins In New Hampshire

Oct. 19, 2004

Amherst, Mass. - The UMass women's rowing team won three events at the New Hampshire Championships on Saturday. The Minutewomen's varsity eight took first place in the open eight race. UMass also won the quad race and placed first, second, and third in the open single.

The varsity eight consisted of senior Faith Harkins (Marion, Mass.), sophomore Ellen Maskrey (Pittsburgh, Penn.), senior Lea Jakobsen (Copenhagen, Denmark), junior Gabrielle Papineau (Ottawa, Ontario), sophomore Hannah Brewster (Plymouth, Mass.), junior Katie Berger (Amherst, N.H), senior Naomi Rudov (Framingham, Mass.), junior Catherine Gariepy (Lorraine, Quebec), and sophomore coxswain Kristina Ferraro (Columbus, Ohio).

The women's quad featured sophomore Jackie Tuell (Mercer Island, Wash.), sophomore Tracey Altamura (Lake Mary, Fla.), sophomore Jaime Dicke (Huntington, N.Y.), and sophomore Tara Guinan (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.).

UMass swept the singles competion with Jakobsen finishing first, followed by Gariepy and Brewster.

The novice eight finished fourth in their race. The rowers included Courtney Mulvihill, Julie Markus, Stephanie Rist, Hayley Fish, Amanda Mawn, Sara Weinstock and Julia Stern. The coxswain was Jen Kennedy.

The varsity eight will compete at The Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston this weekend. UMass finished 16th at that race last season. In addition to the varsity eight, the UMass Rowing Alumni will have an eight in the race.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago