Women's Rowing

Women's Rowing Wins Knecht Cup

UMass wins the Knecht Cup again this year

UMass wins the Knecht Cup again this year

April 17, 2005

Amherst, Mass. - The UMass women's rowing team won the Knecht Cup held on the Cooper River in New Jersey on Saturday and Sunday. The varsity eight and varsity quad both won, along with Lea Jakobsen who won the varsity single. It was the second straight year, UMass won the Knecht Cup, which goes to the winning varsity eight.

"It was a really good weekend for us leading into next weekends Atlantic 10 championship," said Head Coach Jim Dietz. "I was really excited to win the varsity eight, especially since we beat two other A-10 schools (George Washington and Rhode Island) in the finals.

The Minutewomen have won the last nine Atlantic 10 titles and will be competing on the same race course at the Cooper River next weekend at A-10's.

The varsity eight won the Knecht Cup over 27 other schools. UMass won with a time of 6:43.8. GW was second (6:50.2) and URI was sixth (6:57.4) The varsity eight boat consisted of Ellen Maskrey, Lea Jakobsen, Gabrielle Papineau, Hannah Brewster, Stephanie Hopf, Katie Berger, Faith Harkins, Catherine Gariepy, and coxswain Kristina Ferraro.



UMass also won the varsity quad with Hopf, Jakobsen, Brewster, and Gariepy rowing in that event, too. Their winning time was 7:54.80. Kansas was second, Rhode Island third, and Temple fifth.

Jakobsen finished first in the varsity single, while her teammate, Gariepy finished 2nd. Jakobsen's time was 9:58.20 and Gariepy finished in 10:05.5.

Harkins and Papineau (9:37.8) teamed to finish second in the varsity pairs and Melissa Stewart and Tara Guinan (10:36.60) were third.

The second novice eight finished third in the finals. The boat consisted of Jenn Kennedy, Laura Condella, Annie Pacheco, Baille Jones, Sara Weinstock, Lyndsy Belliveau-Byam , Erin Kershaw, Sara Collins, and coxswain Allison Medoff.

The other boats all participated in the petite finals. The seoond varsity eight was fifth. The boat consisted of: Kate Grogan, Tara Guinan, Melissa Stewart, Jaime Dicke, Aimee Bourassa, Jay Yankowski, Justina Jassen, Katie Freeley, and the coxswain was Amber Monson.

The varsity four with coxswain finished fourth. The rowers were Kristen Boyce, Allie Bahn, Jess Bridge,and Jackie Tuell. The coxswain was Allison Medoff.

The first novice eight finished second by two-tenths of a second to Delaware in the petite final. Courtney Mulvihill, Amanda Mawn, Lizzy Hayashida, Stephanie Rist, Rachael Nealer, Julie Markus, Michelle Woodford, and Julia Stern were the rowers, and Dana Pulda was the coxswain.

The novice four with coxswain was third. Anne Osborn, Karalyn Walk, Leisl Bauman, and Jackie Burgoyne were the rowers and Natalie Salerno was the coxswain.

The lightweight eight was third. Tracy Altamura, Melissa Kelly, Abby Lively, Heather Harrington, Maria Arcari, Kaitlyn Wolk, Kirsten Mangan, and Kara Linnehan were the rowers and Mary Horan was the coxswain.

The lightweight four with coxswain came in second. Harrington, Altamura, Lively, and Arcari were the rowers and Horan was the coxswain.

The Minutewomen will race again on Saturday April 23 at the Atlantic 10 Championships. They have won nine straight A-10 titles and look for number 10 this season.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago