Women's Lacrosse

Women's Lax Trio Selected For IWLCA North-South All-Star Game

May 27, 2014

AMHERST, Mass. - The IWLCA announced today the rosters for the annual North-South All-Star Game which will held on June 7 at Cabrini College in Radnor, Pa. UMass women's lacrosse seniors Tanner Guarino, Kelsey McGovern and Kelsey Sheridan were each selected to take part in the event.

Between the three NCAA Divisions (I, II and III), the IWLCA honored 132 student-athletes with selection to the All Star rosters. The Division I game will begin at 11:30 AM followed by the Division II (12:45 PM) and the Division III (2:00 PM) games.

The honor for the UMass trio comes on the heels of the group earning All-Region honors just two weeks ago. Sheridan was named to the All-Region First Team, while Guarino and McGovern were All-Region Second Team honorees.

Guarino leaves UMass as the all-time leader in games played at 82. She finished her career with 99 goals and 149 points along with 112 groundballs, 67 caused turnovers and 82 draw controls. In addition to her All-Region honors, Guarino was a three-time All-Atlantic 10 selection earning first team honors in 2013 and 2014 along with second team accolades in 2012.

McGovern joined Sheridan as a keystone of the UMass defense in addition to being the Minutewomen's primary draw taker. The native of Acton, Mass., finished her career with a UMass record 201 draw controls. That mark was highlighted by her setting the single-season program mark in 2013 with 110 draw controls. She played in 76 career games adding 59 caused turnovers, 76 groundballs, 10 goals and five assists to her resume. McGovern was also an All-Atlantic 10 First Team pick in 2013 and 2014 and named to the All-Academic Team in each of those seasons as well.

Sheridan anchored a defense which ranked second nationally in 2014 in goals allowed. On just three occasions did the Minutewomen surrender 10-or-more goals throughout the year. Sheridan led UMass in caused turnovers (27) and groundballs (46) while ranking among the team leaders in draw controls (46). The speedy and athletic senior was also key in UMass' transition play where the Minutewomen averaged nearly 85 percent on clearing opportunities, while holding the opposition to just 57 percent. The native of Chelmsford, Mass., was an Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team selection and also earned A-10 All-Academic honors in 2014.



This past season, UMass won its sixth consecutive Atlantic 10 championship title before falling to Loyola in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Minutewomen's 18 wins were the third most in program history. UMass made its eighth trip overall to the NCAA Tournament and the fourth in as many years.

The 2014 senior class made up of Guarino, McGovern, and Sheridan along with Melissa Carelli, Shannon Defliese, Katie Ferris, Courtney McGrath, and Sam Rush leave UMass as the all-time winningest senior class in program history. The class posted a 72-10 overall record through four years which was the second most wins among NCAA teams heading into the NCAA Tournament. The class also posted a perfect 38-0 record against Atlantic 10 teams which included four perfect regular-season slates and four runs through the Atlantic 10 Championship tournament.

IWLCA Division I - North Squad
Danielle Mastro, Brown University, Attack
Katrina Martinelli, Rutgers University, Attack
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse University, Attack
Kacey Pippitt, University of Connecticut, Attack
Jamie Redding, University of Louisville, Attack
Nikki Boltja, University of Louisville, Attack
Becca Church, Boston University, Midfield
Maria Kotas, Canisius College, Midfield
Ana White, Lafayette College, Midfield
Jenn Ward, Hofstra University, Midfield
Amy Cross, Syracuse University, Midfield
Lauren Kahn, University of Connecticut, Midfield
Tanner Guarino, University of Massachusetts, Midfield
Gabby Kotas, Canisius College, Defense
Emily Corzel, Hofstra University, Defense
Chelsea Intrabartola, Rutgers University, Defense
Jessica Romano, Stony Brook University, Defense
Natalie Glanell, Syracuse University, Defense
Kelsey McGovern, University of Massachusetts, Defense
Kelsey Sheridan, University of Massachusetts, Defense
Christina Sheridan, Boston University, Goalkeeper
Anna Berman, University of Albany, Goalkeeper

IWLCA Division I - South Squad
Meghan Farrell, Georgetown University, Attack
Mackenzie Carroll, High Point University, Attack
Amy Roguski, James Madison University, Attack
Meris Walsh, San Diego State University, Attack
Aimee Gennaro, United States Naval Academy, Attack
Julie Heaps, Virginia Tech, Attack
Abby Wheeler, Vanderbilt University, Attack
Melanie Raso, Fairfield University, Midfield
Hannah Franklin, Georgetown University, Midfield
Kelyn Freedman, Georgetown University, Midfield
Jasmine Jordan, High Point University, Midfield
Margaret Smith, University of Notre Dame, Midfield
Hayley Ross, University of Richmond, Midfield
Jenna Dougherty, College of William & Mary, Midfield
Brittany Hanrahan, Saint Joseph's University, Defense
Alex Alois, University of Delaware, Defense
Kelsey Henshaw, United States Naval Academy, Defense
Alyssa Dunlap, Vanderbilt University, Defense
Amy Begay, Villanova University, Defense
Lauren Shockley, Villanova University, Defense
Alex Fitzpatrick, Lehigh University, Goalkeeper
Victoria (Tori) Zorovich, University of Delaware, Goalkeeper

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago