Women's Lacrosse

Women's Lax Places Five On IWLCA All-Region Teams

Riley Perry was one of five Minutewomen named to IWLCA All-Region Teams.

Riley Perry was one of five Minutewomen named to IWLCA All-Region Teams.

May 25, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - After winning its fourth consecutive Atlantic 10 Championship title and making its third NCAA Tournament appearance in the last four years, the UMass women's lacrosse team placed five Minutewomen on the IWLCA All-Region Teams as announced on Thursday. Katie Ferris and Ali Houlis were both named to the First Team, while Jesse O'Donnell, Riley Perry and Nina Sarcona were named to the second team. The five selections marked the most in program history.

For Houlis the honor marked the second straight year she was a first team selection. Ferris earned second team all-region honors in 2011. For O'Donnell, Perry and Sarcona, this marked the first time in their careers to be named to the all-region squad.

In just her sophomore year, Ferris broke out onto the national scene as one of top scoring attacks in the country. Her 98 points set a new Atlantic 10 and UMass single season record thanks to her team best 59 goals and 39 assists - both UMass records as well. She was named the Atlantic 10 Player of the Year and earned A-10 All-Conference First Team and All-Tournament Team accolades as well.

Houlis closed her career as one of the top defensive players in program history. In 2012 she led UMass with 19 caused turnovers and 38 groundballs to go along with 49 draw controls, six goals and six assists. The Atlantic 10 First Team selection finished among the program's top-10 in career groundballs (9th), caused turnovers (7th), draw controls (6th), games played (1st) and games started (1st)

O'Donnell finished her senior season as UMass' third leading scorer with 50 goals and 15 assists as one of three Minutewomen to eclipse the 60 point mark for the season. Her 50 goals were second on the team only to Ferris. Also an Atlantic 10 First Team selection, the Chicago, Ill., native closed her career with 126 goals and 34 assists for 160 points in 79 games. She ranks 5th all-time in career goals and ninth all-time in career points.



Perry has also been a mainstay of the Minutewomen's defensive unit which has ranked among the best in the Atlantic 10 over the last four years. In 21 games in 2012, Perry notched 14 caused turnovers, 30 groundballs and 22 draw controls to go with two goals and an assist. Along with Houlis, Perry started all 80 consecutive games in her career to hold the school record. Her 49 career caused turnovers ranks 9th all-time in program history.

Sarcona added all-region honors to a senior campaign which saw her earn Atlantic 10 All-Conference second team, A-10 All-Tournament Team and A-10 All-Academic Team accolades. The attack and draw control specialists finished the year fifth in scoring with 44 points on 37 goals and seven assists. She was one of the nation's leaders in draw controls with a school-record 109 for the season. That total ranks among the top-10 in the NCAA for a single season. For her career, she posted 193 draw controls which sets a new UMass record surpassing the previous one of 124 set by Meghan Reddy from 2005-09.

As members of the All-Region First Team, Ferris and Houlis will be eligible to earn IWLCA All-American honors which will be announced on May 27. The IWLCA will honor the National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on June 16, 2012 at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King Prussia, Pa.

Northeast Region


First Team

Becca Block, Syracuse, Jr., D

Alyssa Constantino, Syracuse, So., G

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University, Jr., A

Katie Ferris, Massachusetts, So., A

Ellen Gleason, Harvard, Sr., D

Caroline Helmer, Cornell, Sr., D

Ali Houlis, Massachusetts, Sr., D

Kristin Igoe, Boston College, Sr., M

M.E. Lapham, Connecticut, Sr., A

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, So., A

Sarah Plumb, Dartmouth, Sr., M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College, Fr., M

Covie Stanwick, Boston College, Fr., A

Jessi Steinberg, Cornell, Sr., A

Michelle Tumulo, Syracuse, Jr., A

Katie Webster, Syracuse, So., M


Second Team           

Melanie Baskind, Harvard, Sr., M

Georgia Bird, Dartmouth, Sr., D

Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth, So., G

Kirsten Goldberg, Dartmouth, Sr., A

Lauren Kahn, Connecticut, So., M

Katie Keagins, New Hampshire, Sr., M

Sydney Mas, Vermont, So., A

Courtney Miller, Colgate, Sr., M

Jesse O’Donnell, Massachusetts, Sr., A

Ariana Parker, Albany, So., M

Riley Perry, Massachusetts, Sr., D

Jenn Primeau, Albany, Sr., D

Caroline Salisbury, Cornell, Jr., A

Nina Sarcona, Massachusetts, Sr., A

Hilary Smith, Dartmouth, Sr., D

Danielle Tetreault, Harvard, Jr. M

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago