Women's Lacrosse

Cori Murray Selected To Play In IWLCA North/South All-Star Game

Cori Murray was selected to the IWLCA North/South All-Star Game.

Cori Murray was selected to the IWLCA North/South All-Star Game.

May 23, 2013

AMHERST, Mass. - After enjoying a career-best year in 2013, UMass women's lacrosse senior attack Cori Murray has been selected to the annual IWLCA North/South All-Star Game as announced this week. The game will take place on Sunday, May 26 at Cabrini College in Radnor, Pa. Murray finished the year as UMass' third leading scorer with 71 points (40 goals, 31 assists).

The Atlantic 10 is represented by Murray and Jess Hicks of George Washington on the North Team, while Sam Stevenson (Richmond), Stephany Parcell (Temple), Melanie Sarcinello (La Salle), Charlotte Swavola (Temple) and Tara Coyle (Richmond) will play for the South squad.

The native of Oceanport, N.J., was an integral part of one of the nation's top offensive units. Her 71 points marked a career high for a season as were her 40 goals and 31 assists. She finished her UMass career with 133 points on 85 goals and 48 assists in 74 contests.

Murray scored a goal in all 20-of-21 games this year with 12 multi-goal games. In the Atlantic 10 Tournament, she notched two goals and three assists in the semifinal vs. George Washington before adding four goals and two assists in the championship game vs. Duquesne.

In the NCAA Tournament, Murray helped UMass to its first NCAA Tournament win since 1984 with a goal and two assists against UConn. Despite her three goals in the NCAA Tournament Second Round, the Minutewomen's season ended witha 12-9 loss to seventh-seed Penn State.

In her career, Murray was twice named to the Atlantic 10 All-Tournament Team earning Tournament MVP honors in 2012.

During her time at UMass, she led the Minutewomen to a 64-18 overall record and a 26-2 mark in the Atlantic 10. Murray and the 2013 Senior Class of Sarah Mullen, Kelsey Palmer and Lauren Terracciano guided the program to four consecutive Atlantic 10 Titles (part of a league-record five straight) and three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.



Division I - North Squad    
Danielle Etrasco Boston University A
Rachel Burek University of Albany A
Janine Hillier Stony Brook University A
Cori Murray University of Massachusetts A
Jenny Granger  University of Notre Dame  A
Joanna Dalton Loyola University A
Morgan Leonard Canisius College M
Chloe Mangan Fairfield University M
Demmianne Cook Stony Brook University M
Katherine Hunsberger Binghamton University M
Lindsey Morgan Canisius College M
Charlotte Davis  Princeton University M
Kelly Buechel Columbia University D
Gianna D'Urso Monmouth University D
Colleen Shea Penn State University D
Caroline Rehfuss Princeton University D
Ashley Moulton Loyola University D
Alexa Demski  Towson University D
Ellie Hilling University of Notre Dame GK
Jess Hicks George Washington University GK
Division I South Squad     
Makenzie Hommel Duke University A
Casey Ancarrow James Madison University A
Dina Jackson Georgetown Universty A
Sam Stevenson The University of Richmond A
Katie Oliverio University of Louisville A
Jasmine DePompeo United State Naval Academy A
Stephany Parcell Temple University A
Julie McBrien Lehigh University M
Maddie Poplawski University of Pennsylvania M
Zaynib Hamze University of Detroit Mercy M
Maddie Carrellas College Holy Cross M
Melanie Sarcinello La Salle University M
Charlotte Swavola Temple University M
Jamie Fahey University of Maryland Baltimore County D
Brijet Mall United State Naval Academy D
Alex Burns Old Dominion University D
Tara Coyle The University of Richmond D
Rachel Hannon Jacksonville University D
Kim Kolarik University of Virginia GK
Lily Kalata Rutgers University GK
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago