Women's Lacrosse

Katie Ferris Earns IWLCA Second Team All-American Honors

Katie Ferris earned her third career IWLCA All-America honor on Tuesday.

Katie Ferris earned her third career IWLCA All-America honor on Tuesday.

May 20, 2014

AMHERST, Mass. - Concluding her career at UMass as one of the all-time great scoring threats, Katie Ferrisadded one more milestone to her career with IWLCA Second-Team All-America honors on Tuesday. In four years for the Maroon & White, Ferris became the all-time leading career point scorer (330), goal scorer (211) and assist leader (119) in program history. Her 330 points are the 15th most in the history of NCAA women's lacrosse.

The last UMass player to earn IWLCA Second-Team All-America honors was Cathy Furhman in 1989. Only three other players had been named to that squad: Lisa Griswold (1986), Chris Kocot (1987) and Sue Murphy (1988).

The All-America honor for Ferris was the third of her career making her the first Minutewoman to do so in program history - dating back to 1976. The native of Carthage, N.Y., earned third team accolades in 2012 and 2013.

Earlier this month, Ferris was named to the IWLCA All-Northeast Region First Team marking the third year she earned that distinction as well.

The senior attack was also a three-time Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year, a four-year selection to the All-Atlantic 10 First Team, the 2011 A-10 Rookie of the Year, a three time pick on the A-10 All-Tournament Team, the 2014 A-10 Championship MVP and a two-time selection to the Tewarraton Watch List.

In addition to her career records, Ferris' 41 assists in 2014 were a career-high and a single-season UMass record. She holds three of the top-4 single-season point totals in program history with a school-record (and Atlantic 10 record) 98 in 2012. Her 85 points in 2014 stands at No. 2 for a single season, while her 75 is fourth-best all-time. She holds three spots on the all-time single-season goals list at No. 3 (59, 2012), No. 5 (56, 2011), and No. 5 (52, 2013). She originally set the single-season mark for assists in 2012 with 39 for the season before breaking that record this year.



Ferris was a member of one of the all-time great senior classes in UMass women's lacrosse history. The class made up of Melissa Carelli, Shannon Defliese, Ferris, Tanner Guarino, Kelsey McGovern, Courtney McGrath, Sam Rush and Kelsey Sheridanleave UMass as the all-time winningest senior class in program history. The class posted a 72-10 overall record through four years which was the second most wins among NCAA teams heading into the NCAA Tournament. The class also posted a perfect 38-0 record against Atlantic 10 teams which included four perfect regular-season slates and four runs through the Atlantic 10 Championship tournament.

In 2014, they concluded their careers with an 18-2 campaign which included an Atlantic 10 title and a berth to the NCAA Tournament.

UMass won its sixth consecutive Atlantic 10 championship title before falling to Loyola in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Minutewomen's 18 wins were the third most in program history. UMass made its eighth trip overall to the NCAA Tournament and the fourth in as many years.

First Team

Nikki Boltja, University of Louisville, Sr., Attack

Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins University, Sr., Attack

Abbey Friend, University of North Carolina, Sr., Attack

Brooke Griffin, University of Maryland, Jr., Attack                                                           

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse University, Sr., Attack

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse University, So., Attack

Taylor Cummings, University of Maryland, So., Midfield

Shannon Gilroy, University of Florida, Jr., Midfield

Kelly McPartland, University of Maryland, Jr., Midfield

Mikaela Rix, Boston College, Jr., Midfield

Megan Douty, University of Maryland, Jr., Defense

Meg Markham, University of Pennsylvania, Jr., Defense

Sloane Serpe, University of North Carolina, Sr., Defense

Margaret Smith, Notre Dame University, Sr., Defense

Taylor Virden, Duke University, Sr., Defense

Liz Colgan, University of Virginia, Sr., Goalkeeper


Second Team

Katie Ferris, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Attack

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern University, Sr., Attack

Kerrin Maurer, Duke University, Jr., Attack

Jill Remenapp, University of Denver, Jr., Attack

Covie Stanwick, Boston College, Jr., Attack

Courtney Swan, University of Virginia, Jr., Attack

Hannah Farr, Stanford University, Jr., Midfield

Beth Glaros, University of Maryland, Sr., Midfield

Lauren Kahn, University of Connecticut, Sr., Midfield

Kaylin Morissette, University of Louisville, So., Midfield

Marlee Paton, Loyola University, Sr., Midfield

Kasey Mock, Syracuse University, Sr., Defense

Lauren Purvis, Pennsylvania State University, Sr., Defense

Colleen Smith, Princeton University, Sr., Defense

Morgan Stephens, University of Virginia, Jr., Defense

Tori DeScenza, Ohio State University, Jr., Goalkeeper


Third Team

Liza Blue, University of Virginia, Sr., Attack

Faye Brust, University of Louisville, Jr., Attack

Cortney Fortunato, University of Notre Dame, Fr., Attack

Sydney Holman, University of North Carolina, Fr., Attack

Erin McMunn, Princeton University, Jr., Attack

Aly Messinger, University of North Carolina, So., Attack

Annie Thomas, Loyola University, Jr., Attack

Nora Barry, University of Florida, Jr., Midfield

Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins University, Sr., Midfield

Madison Cyr, Penn State University, So., Midfield

Taryn VanThof, Loyola University, Jr., Midfield

Kathleen Lennon, University of Albany, Sr., Defense

Maddy Lesher, Loyola University, So., Defense

Alice Mercer, University of Maryland, So., Defense

Monica Negron, University of Louisville, Sr., Defense

Frankie Caridi, Stony Brook University, Sr., Goalkeeper 

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago