Women's Lacrosse

Women's Lax Places Five On IWLCA All-Region Squads

May 13, 2014

AMHERST, Mass. - After composing an 18-2 campaign in 2014 which included an Atlantic 10 title and a berth to the NCAA Tournament, five members of the UMass women's lacrosse team were named to the IWLCA All-Northeast Region as announced Wednesday night. Seniors Katie Ferris and Kelsey Sheridan were both named to the All-Region First Team, while seniors Tanner Guarino, Kelsey McGovern and Sam Rush were named to the All-Region Second Team.

This marked the third straight year that Ferris was named to the All-Region First Team. Guarino and Rush were both second team members last year as was Sheridan. McGovern was named to the first team all-region squad in 2013.

UMass won its sixth consecutive Atlantic 10 championship title before falling to Loyola in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Minutewomen's 18 wins were the third most in program history. UMass made its eighth trip overall to the NCAA Tournament and the fourth in as many years.

The 2014 senior class made up of Ferris, Guarino, McGovern, Rush and Sheridan along with Melissa Carelli, Shannon Defliese, and Courtney McGrath leave UMass as the all-time winningest senior class in program history. The class posted a 72-10 overall record through four years which was the second most wins among NCAA teams heading into the NCAA Tournament. The class also posted a perfect 38-0 record against Atlantic 10 teams which included four perfect regular-season slates and four runs through the Atlantic 10 Championship tournament.



Ferris finished her career at UMass as the 15th ranked point scorer in the history of the NCAA with 330. She holds the program's career records for goals (211), assists (119) and points (330). Her 41 assists in 2014 were a career-high and a single-season UMass record. The three-time Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year was also a three-time All-American and a two-time selection to the Tewarraton Watch List.

Sheridan anchored a defense which ranked second nationally in 2014 in goals allowed. On just three occasions did the Minutewomen surrender 10-or-more goals throughout the year. Sheridan led UMass in caused turnovers (27) and groundballs (46) while ranking among the team leaders in draw controls (46). The speedy and athletic senior was also key in UMass' transition play where the Minutewomen averaged nearly 85 percent on clearing opportunities, while holding the opposition to just 57 percent. The native of Chelmsford, Mass., was an Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team selection and also earned A-10 All-Academic honors in 2014.

Guarino leaves UMass as the all-time leader in games played at 82. She finished her career with 99 goals and 149 points along with 112 groundballs, 67 caused turnovers and 82 draw controls. In addition to her All-Region honors, Guarino was a three-time All-Atlantic 10 selection earning first team honors in 2013 and 2014 along with second team accolades in 2012.

McGovern joined Sheridan as a keystone of the UMass defense in addition to being the Minutewomen's primary draw taker. The native of Acton, Mass., finished her career with a UMass record 201 draw controls. That mark was highlighted by her setting the single-season program mark in 2013 with 110 draw controls. She played in 76 career games adding 59 caused turnovers, 76 groundballs, 10 goals and five assists to her resume. McGovern was also an All-Atlantic 10 First Team pick in 2013 and 2014 and named to the All-Academic Team in each of those seasons as well.

Rush finished her UMass career as one of the most prolific goal scorers in program history. She led the Minutewomen in 2014 with 67 goals setting a new program single-season record. The tally bested the previous single-season record which she set in 2013 with 65 goals. For her career, she is second all-time behind only Ferris with 176 goals and ranks fifth all-time with 202 career points. Her 76 points in 2014 are the third most for a single season behind Ferris who had 98 in 2012 and 85 in 2014. Rush earned All-Atlantic 10 First Team honors in 2014 after being named to the second team in 2013.

Northeast All Region
First Team

Rachel Bowles, University at Albany, So., Attack
Katie Ferris, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Attack
Lauren Kahn, University of Connecticut, Sr., Midfield
Kathleen Lennon, University at Albany, Sr., Defense
Sarah Mannelly, Boston College, So., Midfield
Sydney Mas, University of Vermont, Sr., Attack
Kasey Mock, Syracuse University, Sr., Defense
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse University, Sr., Attack
Shannon Nee, University of Connecticut, So., Goalkeeper
Ariana Parker, University at Albany, Sr., Midfield
Mikaela Rix, Boston College, Jr., Midfield
Erin Roos, Brown University, Sr., Defense
Kelsey Sheridan, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Defense
Covie Stanwick, Boston College, Jr., Attack
Lindsay Toppe, Cornell University, Jr., Attack
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse University, So., Attack

Second Team
Nicole Daniggelis, Yale University, So., Attack
Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth College, Sr., Goalkeeper
Tanner Guarino, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Midfield
Christie Hart, Boston University, Sr., Defense
Bre Hudgins, Brown University, Sr., Attack
Lauren Kwasnowski, University of Connecticut, So., Defense
Jaclyn Leto, Dartmouth College, So., Midfield
Kate McCarthy, Boston College, Sr., Defense
Kelsey McGovern, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Defense
Kacey Pippitt, University of Connecticut, Sr., Attack
Jessica Roach, University of Vermont, Jr., Attack
Marisa Romeo, Harvard University, Fr., Attack
Sam Rush, University of Massachusetts, Sr., Attack
Audrey Todd, Harvard University, So., Midfield
Vanessa Vander Zalm, University of Vermont, So., Midfield
Katie Webster, Syracuse University, Sr., Midfield

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago