Women's Lacrosse

Typadis, Villapiano Named To A-10 Lacrosse All-Championship Team

Jeannette Villapiano

Jeannette Villapiano

May 9, 2006

AMHERST, Mass. - Following the conclusion of the 2006 Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Lacrosse Tournament, sophomores Kathleen Typadis (Medfield, Mass.) and Jeannette Villapiano (Ocean Township, N.J.) were named to the 12-member All-Championships game. The duo each scored two goals in UMass' semifinal loss to eventual champion Richmond last Friday, May 5.

Typadis continued her stellar career this season leading the Minutewomen in goals and points (44) earning her a spot on the all-conference second-team as well. Her 43 goals this season ranks as the fifth-best single season total in program history. She was a two-time A-10 Performer of the Week after guiding UMass to four wins in its final five games of the regular season. She has 79 goals in 35 career games which is just nine shy of the all-time career top-10 list at UMass. Typadis also finished the season with a 24-game scoring streak in place heading into next season.

Villapiano had a breakout year for the Minutewomen scoring 22 goals and adding five assists ranking fourth on the team in total points. This year she ranked third on the team in goals, assists, groundballs (33), and draw controls (30). She also led the team in shot percentage connecting on 46.8 percent of her shots. The sophomore middie nearly tripled her offensive output from her rookie campaign where she tallied eighth goals and two assists. She set career-highs in nearly every statistical category and started every game she played in.

Alongside Typadis and Villapiano, St. Bonaventure's Meghan DePaul and Katelyn Faas; Temple's Whitney Richards, Allison Frengs and Corey Leader and Richmond's Ashley and Mandy Friend, Allison Nuzzi, Jackie Swansburg and Caroline McGuire were also named to the team. UR's McGuire was named Most Outstanding Player.

The Minutewomen return 20 letterwinners for the 2007 campaign including almost 80 percent of its offensive scoring. Defensively, UMass will return its entire defensive row with the exception of A-10 First Team selection Jackie Nesbitt. The Minutewomen will also return the tandem of experienced keepers in redshirt-senior Lauren McCarthy (Derry, N.H.) and junior Krissy Anderson (Baldwin, N.Y.) between the pipes.




    Event Calendar

    There are no upcoming events.
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago