Women's Lacrosse

Women's Lax Cracks Top-10 In Media Poll

Jesse O'Donnell is just the 10th player all-time to score 100+ goals for UMass.

Jesse O'Donnell is just the 10th player all-time to score 100+ goals for UMass.

April 17, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - With a pair of Atlantic 10 wins at Duquesne and at home against St. Bonaventure over the weekend, the UMass women's lacrosse team moved up one spot to No. 9 in the deBeer Media Poll cracking the top-10 for the first time this season. In the IWLCA Coaches Poll, UMass remained steady at No. 16. The Minutewomen will host La Salle on Friday before heading to Temple on Sunday this weekend.

Outside of the 1982 NCAA National Championship Team's 10-0 season, the Minutewomen's 14-1 mark is the best since the 1979 team posted a 15-1 record for the 1979 season. That season was Hall of Fame member Pam Hixon's first year as head coach of the lacrosse team where she led UMass to the USWLA finals.

Friday's game against La Salle will begin at 4 PM at McGuirk Stadium. A win could give the Minutewomen their third A-10 Regular-Season league title in the last four years. It would also give UMass the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Atlantic 10 Tournament which will be held at Richmond on April 27-29. The Minutewomen, picked first in the A-10 Preseason Coaches Poll, are seeking their fourth consecutive Championship Title.

• UMass ranks 2nd nationally in total points in this week's NCAA Statistical Report. UMass has 361 points and is just behind Florida which has 396 points.
• The Minutewomen ranked 3rd in scoring offense (16.2 goals/game) and 11th in scoring defense (9.07 goals/game).
• UMass leads the nation in draw controls with 17.6 per game.
Katie Ferris leads the nation in points (87). She is just 13 shy of becoming the first player in UMass history to score 100 for a season. This season she has set the single-season program records for points (87) and assists (35). She needs just four more goals to tie her single-season record for goals (56) which she set as a freshman last season.
Nina Sarcona ranks 4th nationally in draw controls with 5.93 per game. She holds the UMass single-season record with 83 this year and the career record (167).
Katie Florence ranks 9th nationally in goals-against-average (8.64) which is a career-best. Her 50 career wins is a program record, while her 540 saves rank 2nd all-time. Florence has also started all 74 career games which is two shy of the program record.
• With 28 goals this season, Jesse O'Donnell hit the 100 mark for her career. She notched her 100th career goal in the win over St. Joseph's. She scored 4 goals in the win at Duquesne including the game-tying goal to end regulation and the game-winning goal in overtime. She is just the 10th player all-time at UMass to score 100+ goals and with 134 points, the Chicago native now ranks 11th all-time in program history.
Ali Houlis ranks 10th in career groundballs (122), is tied for 8th in career caused turnovers (64), and ranks 7th in draw controls (99).
• With 66 career caused turnovers, midfielder Dayna Defliese ranks 7th all-time at UMass.
• Five Minutewomen have 30+ points for the season with two others at 29 points entering the weekend. In 2011, UMass had five players with 30+ points total.
• UMass has now won seven consecutive games after Sunday's victory over St. Bonaventure. It was also the 16th straight Atlantic 10 win and the 14th consecutive home win. The last Atlantic 10 team to defeat UMass was La Salle in the 2010 regular-season finale at McGuirk Stadium. The Minutewomen went on to face the Explorers in the next game which was the Atlantic 10 Semifinals en route to the second of UMass' past three A-10 Championship Titles.



A-10 Honors Palmer (April 9)
Kelsey Palmer earned A-10 Defensive Player of the Week honors on April 9 following the Minutewomen's win over Saint Joseph's. Palmer was a key component of a UMass defense that allowed just four goals, a season-low in a 19-4 conference win over the Hawks. A Hillsborough, N.J. native, Palmer had two caused turnovers and scooped two groundballs to anchor the Minutewomen's strong defensive effort. Palmer's honor marked the sixth time in 9 weeks that a UMass player earned a weekly league award.

1982 NCAA National Championship Team Honored
At halftime of Sunday's game against St. Bonaventure, the UMass women's lacrosse program honored its 1982 NCAA National Championship Team with a special ceremony and a banner to commemorate the event. The 1982 team won the first-ever women's lacrosse national championship sponsored by the NCAA with a 9-6 win over Trenton State.

The 1982 team is one of just three teams at UMass to win an NCAA National Championship and is celebrating the 30th anniversary of that achievement this year.

The ceremony included the reading of the 1982 team roster: Margie Anderson, Mary Barney, Linda Bevelander, Michelle Boyer, Fabia Closon, Deb Dejesus, Linda Haytayan, Rita Hubner, Holly Jennings, Susan Kosloski, Pam Moryl, Andrea Muccini, Mary O'Halloran, Carol Progulske, Yvette Rheault, Tish Stevens, Lisa Takacs, Linda Thayer, Rosmarie Tudryn and Kim Wright, and UMass Hall of Fame Head Coach Pam Hixon.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago