Women's Lacrosse

Katie Ferris Named To Tewaaraton Watch List

Katie Ferris was named to the 2013 Tewaaraton Watch List

Katie Ferris was named to the 2013 Tewaaraton Watch List

Feb. 22, 2013

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass junior attack Katie Ferris (Carthage, N.Y.) was named one of 50 players on the 2013 Tewaaraton Watch List as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Friday morning. Ferris is one of the top players in the Atlantic 10 and one of the top offensive threats in the country. The Minutewomen's leading scorer was the A-10 Player of the Year and an IWLCA All-American last season.

Entering 2013, Ferris was named a Pre-Season All-American by Inside Lacrosse after finishing the 2012 campaign as the nation's fourth leading scorer and setting a UMass and Atlantic 10 single-season record with 98 points.

In addition to the three All-America Team honors she earned in 2012, Ferris was also nameed to the IWLCA All-Region First Team after guiding UMass to a 19-2 overall record, a No. 6 RPI, a fourth-consecutive Atlantic 10 Championship title and the Minutewomen's third NCAA Tournament berth in the last four years. She was named the Atlantic 10 Player of the Year and earned A-10 All-Conference First Team and A-10 All-Tournament Team honors as well.

Ferris led UMass with a team-best 59 goals and 39 assists which were both also single-season records for the program. Overall as a unit, the Minutewomen ranked 2nd in the NCAA in scoring.

Through 42 career games, the attack now has 124 career goals, 61 career assists and 185 career points. She ranks sixth all-time in career goals, fourth all-time in career assists and fourth all-time in career points. She is on pace to shatter all three records in the course of her career at UMass.

Ferris' 2012 campaign came on the heels of a freshman season in 2011 that saw her earn SynapseSports.com Rookie All-American honors along with IWLCA All-Region Second Team honors. In the A-10, she was named the Rookie of the Year and earned All-Conference First Team, All-Rookie Team and All-Tournament Team honors posting 56 points and 16 assists in 18 games.



The 2013 Tewaaraton Watch Lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.

Among 2013 watch lists returnees are reigning Tewaaraton Award winners Peter Baum (Colgate) and Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland), as well six former finalists. On the men's side, 2012 finalists Will Manny (Massachusetts) and Mike Sawyer (Loyola) are joined by 2011 finalist Rob Pannell (Cornell). Three 2012 women's finalists Brittany Dashiell (Florida), Taylor Thornton (Northwestern) and Michelle Tumolo (Syracuse) all return to the watch list this year.

"The national reach of quality players is evident in this list, with players from all regions of the country, along with a strong group of eight former winners and finalists," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "As the season unfolds, we are excited for another deserving group of Tewaaraton Award candidates to emerge."

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men's watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot along side these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men's and women's nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men's and five women's finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

2013 Tewaaraton Award women's watch list
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A
Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A
Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth - Sr., D
Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D
Katie Bollhorst, Salisbury - Sr., A
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M
Tatum Coffey, Penn State - Soph., M
Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M
Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A
Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M
Alexa Demski, Towson - Sr., D
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A
Maria Di Fato, Cortland - Sr., M
Tori Dugan, West Chester - Sr., A
Megan Dunleavy, Virginia - Sr., D
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A
Sam Farrell, Florida - Sr., D
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts - Jr., A
Caitlin Fifield, Richmond - Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A
Emily Garrity, North Carolina - Sr., M
Kristin Giovanniello, Dartmouth - Jr., GK
Anna Kim, Stanford - Jr., M
Kim Kolarik, Virginia - Sr., GK
Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State - Jr., D
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Jr., M
Megan Leonhard, Trinity - Sr., M
Lauren Maksym, North Carolina - Sr., GK
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Soph., M
Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK
Maddy Morrissey, Duke - Jr., M
Lyndsey Munoz, Stanford - Jr., GK
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A
Ariana Parker, Albany - Jr., M
Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M
Claire Petersen, Stony Brook - Sr., A
Maddie Poplawski, Penn - Sr., M
Caroline Salisbury, Cornell - Sr., A
Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M
Jaclyn Sileo, LIU-Post - Jr., A
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Jr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Soph., A
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D
Megan Takacs, Cal - Sr., A
Sophia Thomas, Georgetown - Sr., M
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr.,

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award or to attend this exciting event, visit www.tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at www.facebook.com/tewaaraton and www.twitter.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit www.tewaaraton.com.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago