Field Hockey

Field Hockey Sweeps Major Atlantic 10 Awards

Sophomore Brooke Sabia was named the Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year on Thursday afternoon.

Sophomore Brooke Sabia was named the Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year on Thursday afternoon.

Nov. 7, 2013

Atlantic 10 Official Release | Atlantic 10 All-Conference Teams Get Acrobat Reader

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The University of Massachusetts field hockey program swept the major year-end awards given by the Atlantic 10, as announced by the conference on Thursday. Sophomore Brooke Sabia and junior Lauren Allymohamed received the offensive and defensive players of the year honors, respectively. Charlotte Verelst was named the conference's top rookie while Carla Tagliente took home the A-10 Coach of the Year laurel for the second consecutive season.

Allymohamed and Sabia were also tabbed as First Team All-Atlantic 10 honorees alongside seniors Hannah Prince and Alexa Sikalis. Prince, a starter on defense with Allymohamed, has also helped on the attack with 22 points through six goals and 10 assists. Sikalis is even with Prince in the points category through a pair of tallies and 18 assists, the second-most recorded on the season in NCAA Division I field hockey.

Along with being named the top rookie, Verelst was placed on the Atlantic 10 All-Conference Second Team and the All-Rookie squad, as voted upon by the A-10 coaches.

Two Minutewomen received Atlantic 10 All-Academic Team recognition as well, with sophomore goalkeeper Sam Carlino and Sikalis among the 11 student-athletes chosen. Carlino is majoring in environmental science while Sikalis is studying kinesiology.

Sabia leads the conference with 39 points on 19 goals and an assist. Her season totals for goals and points ranks the Lafayette Hill, Pa., native tied for third and ninth, respectively, among all NCAA Division I field hockey student-athletes. Over 42 games as a Minutewoman, the productive forward owns 45 career points on 20 goals and five assists.

Allymohamed was named the Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. The junior provided 14 points on seven goals while helping to lead the UMass defense that has limited foes to 1.45 goals per game through 20 contests. A Minutewoman has been named the Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year in each of the previous five seasons.

Verelst has provided a spark in the midfield with 19 points on four goals and 11 assists. The native of Braine l'Alleud, Belgium, notched the game-winning tally against La Salle and had at least one point in six of the seven A-10 games this year, including her first collegiate multi-goal performance with two tallies against Saint Joseph's.

Tagliente is in her third year leading the Minutewomen after working for eight seasons as a coach with Big Ten Conference programs. The 2001 graduate of the University of Maryland was also named the Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year following the 2012 regular season and was a National Field Hockey Coaches Association Co-Regional Coach of the Year as well. Under the direction of Tagliente, the Minutewomen squad has increased its win total in each season from seven during 2011 to 15 last season before posting 16 victories entering the 2013 Atlantic 10 Tournament.

The Minutewomen continue their 2013 season as the No. 1 seed in the Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship, set to occur at Garber Field in Amherst, Mass. UMass will face VCU on Friday, Nov. 8, at 2 p.m., with the winner of the contest advancing to the tournament finale on Saturday, Nov. 9 at 2 p.m.

UMass Atlantic 10 Year-End Awards
Offensive Player of the Year: Brooke Sabia
Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Allymohamed
Rookie of the Year: Charlotte Verelst
Coach of the Year: Carla Tagliente
First Team: Lauren Allymohamed, Brooke Sabia, Hannah Prince, Alexa Sikalis
Second Team: Charlotte Verelst
Academic Team: Sam Carlino, Alexa Sikalis




    Event Calendar

    There are no upcoming events.
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago