Men's Cross Country

MXC: Season's Finish Line Arrives At IC4A's

Patrick McAllister is among six returners from those who competed at last year's IC4A Championships.

Patrick McAllister is among six returners from those who competed at last year's IC4A Championships.

Nov. 16, 2011

BRONX, N.Y. - For the seventh and final time this fall, the UMass men's cross country squad will be in action, this Saturday at the IC4A Championships. The men's competition will take place at Van Cortlandt Park in Bronx, N.Y. and will be facilitated by the Eastern College Athletic Conference.

Just last Saturday, the Minutemen ran at the highly competitive NCAA Regional Championships in Amherst, N.Y., taking home 19th place in a field of 33 opponents. Ken O'Brien's crew was led once again by standout graduate student Sean Duncan, who placed higher than any Minuteman has at the NCAA Regional Meet since Nils Fischer took 29th in 2008. Sophomores Jared Reddy and Antony Taylor trailed Duncan, with marks of 33:21.0 and 33:38.3. The duo placed 83rd and 108th respectively.

Patrick McGowan and Patrick McAllister were the final two scorers for UMass, clocking in at 34:14.9 (139th) and 34:20.8 (141st) respectively.

Among those who finished in the team's top five at the NCAA Regional Meet, 23 scoring performances have been registered this fall. Duncan has been ahead of the pack, finishing first on the team in all five meets he has competed in this season. Additionally, Taylor has yet to place below fourth on the team in any meet, while leading the team at the season's opener at Bryant University. Reddy has recorded a top five team finish in each of the past three meets. McAllister has registered a second place performance for UMass twice this fall. Finally, McGowan has failed to score in only one meet he has competed in this fall.

At last year's IC4A Championships, the Minutemen placed 17th of 19 with 446 points. Returning from those who competed at Van Cortlandt Park in 2010 are Reddy, McGowan, McAllister, Paul Merriman, Dan Joyce, and Andrew Erwin.



UMass will compete in the Championships Race, along with 17 other declared teams. The field includes #12 Syracuse, #15 Georgetown, and #17 Princeton.
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago