Men's Cross Country

 
Q&A With Cross Country's Nils Fischer

Nils Fischer has been UMass' top runner in nearly every race this season.

Nils Fischer has been UMass' top runner in nearly every race this season.

Nov. 7, 2005

Q: What got you interested in running?
A: I started running in middle school and my dad got me interested because he was a big runner in college. I'd run with him so I was always in pretty good shape, which made it easy to start running in middle school.

Q: What kind of differences are there between high school and college cross country?
A: There's a big jump in mileage, longer races, more competition. All the races are bigger here because in high school you have the dual meets and you can hope to come in first or second place but here there's so many more people that you can come in anywhere from 10th to 40th on any day.

Q: What is a normal practice day like for you?
A: Most of the time I just look forward to practice as a time to socialize with the team. It's kind of a relaxing time but when we have workouts it's money in the bank, because you know it will pay off in the future.

Q: How important is the team aspect of cross country?
A: We really want the team to do well because that's how we get recruits. When your team is doing well it just helps you a lot, especially during the races because it keeps you going knowing that you have to keep it going.

Q: Where is your favorite place to run?
A: There's a lot of great trails around here to run on. It's nice because if you run on the same one every day then it's not as fun.

Q: What kind of goals do you want to accomplish before you graduate here?
A: I just want to improve every year, there's no point for me to set specific goals. I'd like to run a 4:10 mile but I just want to get better and I want the team to get better.

Q: What kind of pre-race rituals or routine do you have?
A: I don't really have any, just eat a small breakfast the day of a race. I like to get a lot of sleep before a race, usually two nights before the race I get a lot more than I do the night before. I used to listen to music before a race but now that I'm more experienced I don't need to listen to it.

Q: What kinds of things do you do in your spare time?
A: I play a fair amount of guitar and some piano. I go to France every summer because I have family there and we go sailing and stuff. My dad's really into hang-gliding so I've done that too.

Q: What do you see yourself doing after graduation?
A: I just kind of decided recently that I was going major in food science perhaps. It just seemed like a really good subject at UMass. I was looking at biology, but food science just seems like a better fit for me.

 

 

GET YOUR OFFICIAL
UMASS GEAR HERE

    Event Calendar

    Saturday, Sept 13
    vs Minuteman Invitational 11:30 AM
    Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago