Men's Cross Country

Antony Taylor Achieves All-Conference In A-10 Championships

Senior John O'Shea placed second for the Minutemen in the 2012 A-10 Championships

Senior John O'Shea placed second for the Minutemen in the 2012 A-10 Championships

Oct. 27, 2012


PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - The men's cross country team finished the 2012 A-10 Championships in a tie for eighth place with Fordham. Butler took home the men's and women's championship on Saturday morning. Butler was followed by Saint Joseph's and La Salle.

The Minutemen were led by junior Antony Taylor with an 11th place finish overall in a field of 136 and a time of 26:05. In second for UMass and placing 20th overall was senior, John O'Shea. O'Shea crossed the finish line at 26:24.0 and would be followed by sophomore harrier Richard Racz. Racz came in 54th and third for his team with a time of 26:58.1.

Jared Reddy finished fourth for UMass, crossing the finish line at 27:24.3 and was trailed by Daniel Sheldon. The freshman finished at 27:28.5 and placed 76th overall. Paul Merriman came in sixth for his squad in 27:38.9 and would be followed by two freshmen to round off the men's squad. Both Benjamin Thomas and Quentin Stipp finished the race for UMass in 84th and 86th. Thomas finished with a time of 27:42.7 and Stipp with a time of 27:43.6.

The Minutemen will run in the NCAA Northeast Regional Championships next week on Friday, November 9 in Madison Conn. at 12:00 PM.

Atlantic 10 Conference Championships Top 5 Finishers

1. Travis Mahoney (Temple) - 25:16.5
2. Alfredo Santana (La Salle) - 25:21.9
3. Tom Anderson (Butler) - 25:51.0
4. Thomas Ohlman (Xavier) - 25:53.2
5. Ross Clarke (Butler) - 25:57.3




    Event Calendar

    Saturday, Oct 31
    at Atlantic 10 Championship 10:30 AM
    Friday, Nov 13
    at NCAA Northeast Regional 11:45 AM
    Saturday, Nov 21
    at IC4A Championship 10:15 AM
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago