Men's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country Wins UMass Invitational; Men Finish Second Overall

The Minutemen placed four runners in the top ten.

The Minutemen placed four runners in the top ten.

Sept. 18, 2004


AMHERST, Mass. - Christina Derosa took first-place on Saturday in the UMass Men's and Women's Cross Country Individual to lead the Minutewomen to a team-victory, while Ryan Corbett and Nils Fischer finished second and third, respectively, to lead the men's team to a runner-up finish.

In women's action, Derosa finished first with a time of 18:12 on the 3.0 mile long course, followed by Cuisle Kierans (18:30) who finished fourth, Amanda Dahlberg (18:35) who finished sixth, and Alexis Anzelone (18:38) who finished seventh.

Diana Purtz (18:18) and Heather Mitchell (18:24) finished second and third, respectively, to lead Vermont who finished second in the meet. Kristen Vidlak finished ninth in 18:45 and Shelby Howe finished the course in 18:53, good for a tenth-place finish, to lead Maine to a third-place overall finish.

In men's action, Corbett and Fischer completed the course in 23:08 and 23:10 to lead UMass. Paul Noone (23:33, 8th), Matt Klypka (23:42, 9th), and Matt Clark (23:44, 10th) rounded out the Minutemen top finishers.

Maine placed three runners in the top five to take the team title. Michael Lansing won the individual title finishing the 4.75 mile course in 22:55. Jeffrey Caron (23.13) and Kirby Davis (23:15) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Vermont finished third overall and was paced by Brad Allen who was the team's only top-10 finisher. Allen completed the course in 23:22 for a sixth-place finish.

For complete results from today's meet, go to



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago