Men's Track

Minutemen Wrap Up Regular Season In New Haven

Stephen Bigelow finished first in the 60 meter hurdles on Saturday.

Stephen Bigelow finished first in the 60 meter hurdles on Saturday.

Feb. 9, 2014


AMHERST, Mass. - Lamont Gooden, Stephen Bigelow and Zack Hildenbrandt led the way for the men's track and field squad in New Haven, Conn. with a combined three first place finishes. The Giegengack Invitational marks the team's final competition of the indoor regular season. The Minutemen now have two weeks to prepare for the Atlantic 10 Championship.

Co-Captains Hildenbrandt and Bigelow were the first place finishers in their respective events on Saturday afternoon. Hildenbrandt ran the 500 meter dash in 1-minute, 5.33-seconds outrunning 18 other competitors. The senior was also joined in the top eight by Alex Finestone in seventh place at 1-minute, 7.44-seconds.

Bigelow continued his dominance this season in the hurdles recording the best time of the event. The senior completed the 60 meter hurdles in just 8.25-seconds and currently ranks fourth in the Atlantic 10. Bigelow was closely followed in second place by sophomore Zack Grube finishing in just 8.67-seconds.

The top eight of the event was capped of by a pair of freshman Minutemen with multi Adam Bonfilio finishing ahead of Zachary Blum. Bonfilio was sixth overall with a time of 8.88-seconds while Blum crossed the finish line at the 9.24-second mark.

Freshman Lamont Gooden grabbed the best mark in the triple jump leaping 44-feet, 1.25-inches and ranks seventh in the conference for the event. He was followed by freshman Dana Pagliuca in fourth place with a distance totaling 42-feet, 8.75-inches.



Also finding success in the field was Greg Copeland, Nicholas Gemino and Brett Davies. Copeland and Gemino went second and fourth in the pole vault posting heights of 14-feet, 3.25-inches and 13-9.25-inches respectively. Davies threw 45-feet, 5.25-inches in the shot put for a fourth place finish. Copeland currently ranks seventh in the pole vault while Davies ranks sixth in the shot put.

On the track Peter Farlow was the team's leader in the 60 meter dash finishing third in the event with a time of 7.03-seconds. Youssef Elkorchi finished eighth in the event at 7.27-seconds. Farlow's time ties him for seventh in the conference.

Farlow came back to finish sixth in the 400 meter dash crossing the finish line at the 50.49-second mark and then assisted in the team's 4x400 meter relay fifth place finish. He joined Pat Farnham, Hayden Frechette-McCall and Hildenbrandt in their 3-minute, 24.76-second effort.

In the 1,000 meter run Michael McNaughton was the fastest of three Minutemen to place in the top eight with a time of 2-minutes, 30.71-seconds. McNaughton finished third overall in the event with Stephen Ness in sixth at 2-minutes, 31.48-seconds.

Antony Taylor placed eighth in the event crossing the finish line at the 2-minute, 32.54-second mark and placed eighth in the mile as well with a time of 4-minutes, 12.92-seconds. Taylor trailed Ben Groleau in fifth place. Groleau completed the mile in 4-minutes, 12.42-seconds ranking him eighth in the A-10.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago