Men's Swimming

Swimming And Diving Head To Geneva For Conference Championships

Michaela Butler will be looking to repeat as both one- and three-meter diving champion for the Minutewomen.

Michaela Butler will be looking to repeat as both one- and three-meter diving champion for the Minutewomen.

Feb. 19, 2013

AMHERST, Mass. - With a full season of dual-meets, invitationals and practice behind them, the UMass men's and women's swimming and diving will be looking to continue their success at the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship this week from the Spire Institute in Geneva, Ohio. The four-day meet begins February 20 at 3:30 p.m. and concludes February 23. The men will be pursuing the programs seventh-straight A-10 title, while the women will be looking to get back onto the podium a year after finishing fourth.

The Minutemen have been, by far, the most successful team in the A-10 winning a conference record 14 titles, including 11 in the past 12 seasons. The men are led by Head Coach Russ Yarworth who has 12 A-10 Coach of the Year titles to his name, another record.

Along with the team, the Minutemen have two individual, and a relay title they look to defend this week. Chris Inglis, Hao Luong and the 800-yard freestyle relay team will be attempting to defend titles from last season. Inglis will be looking to become a three-time champ in the 1650-yard freestyle along with defending his 200 free title. Luong will try to defend his 200 backstroke gold, while the 800 free relay team will try to defend their title after setting the conference record in the event last season.

The Minutewomen have consistently been one of the best teams in the A-10. Since their last conference title in 2001, UMass has reached the podium four times, all of which in the past seven years. Head Coach Bob Newcomb will look to get his team back on the podium once again and even challenge for their first second-place finish since 2007.

This 2012-13 team is one of the faster UMass teams in recent years, sitting amongst the top-three in nearly every event of the conference-best times. The Minutewomen can count again on their excellent divers, as they have won eight of the last ten one-meter championships and four of the last seven three-meter championships. The past two A-10 Divers of the Year, Molly Elkins (2011) and Michaela Butler (2012), will be leading the Minutewomen on the boards.



In the pool the women will look to their underclassman to lead the scoring. Sophomores Zoe Judd and Molly Smyth sit in either first or second in the freestyle events, while Katie Arnott, Rebecca Quirie and Jocelyn Yuen are top-three in nearly all of the remaining breast, back, fly and IM events.

All of the action can be watched live for free on Atlantic 10 All Access and stats can be followed live on the Meet Mobile App and through the Swimming and Diving Championship Central.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago