Men's Swimming

UMass Opens Quest For 15th A-10 Title on Wednesday

Feb. 18, 2014

Live Results | Live Diving Scoring | Championship Central

The Massachusetts men's swimming & diving program has won 11 of the last 13 Atlantic 10 championships. But after being knocked from the top spot last year by St. Bonaventure, the Minutemen are the ones playing catchup this year.

The 14-time A-10 champion Minutemen return 14 letterwinners, including five all-conference performers and 11 athletes who scored at the conference meet.

Leading the way for UMass is senior Chris Inglis. He set the A-10 record in the 200 free at last year's meet and has the fastest time in the event entering this year's championship.

Other names that return from last year's squad include sophomore Alessandro Bomprezzi, juniors Michael Glenn and Hao Luong.

Bomprezzi has the fastest seed time in the 1650 free and fourth-fastest time entering the 500 free, while sophomore teammate Joe Woodman holds the second-fastest race prior to the championships.

Glenn figures to be a high=point candidate with top three seed times in both IM and breaststroke events. A year ago he picked up a second, third and fourth in three of the events.

Luong looks for a return to the top of the podium in the 200 back. He won the event as a freshman two years ago before a runner-up spot last year. He enters the meet with the top time in the A-10, followed closely by rival Vatslav Lets of St. Bonaventure, last year's A-10 Most Outstanding Performer.

Sophomore Josh Koppel will open the meet on Wednesday at 3:30 p.m. when he brings his No. 2 seed score into the 1-meter springboard event., He has the top score in the league in the 3-meter, which will be held on Friday.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago