Men's Swimming

Men's Swimming Finishes Second At Atlantic 10 Championships

Alessandro Bomprezzi finished with a school record and NCAA B cut time of 15:26.83 in the 1650 free.

Alessandro Bomprezzi finished with a school record and NCAA B cut time of 15:26.83 in the 1650 free.

Feb. 24, 2013

AMHERST, Mass. - The UMass men's swimming and diving team finished second at the Atlantic 10 Championships for the first time since 2006, Saturday night. St. Bonaventure, the same team to dethrone them back in 2006, snapped the Minutemen's streak of six-straight conference championships. The Bonnies took the title with a total of 688 points, while UMass came in behind them with 613.5 points. Rounding out the remainder of the group is Xavier (519), George Washington (397), Fordham (391.5), Saint Louis (386.5) and La Salle (362.5).

Despite the second-place finish the Minutemen saw some outstanding swims in the pool Saturday night, setting four school records and hitting the podium six times. The four-day total for the UMass men is seven school records and 12 medals.

Alessandro Bomprezzi got the night started off in the record setting fashion with his school record in the 1650-yard freestyle. The freshman touched the wall at a time of 15:26.83, just under six seconds faster than the previous school-best time. Bomprezzi's time was good for the silver medal in the event. Kyle Vieira came in sixth in the 1650 at a time of 15:49.18. Evan Sholudko finished in the seventh (15:52.32), while Chris Inglis took 13th (16:05.72).

In the 200-yard backstroke Hao Luong finished second with a school-best time of 1:46.08. Troy Nichols finished seventh in the event, touching the wall at 1:50.88. Ryan Bobianski went on to an 11th-place finish with a time of 1:51.33.

Freshman Brian Stiles led the Minutemen in the 100-yard freestyle with his fifth-place finish and time of 45.14. Peter Sacco came in behind him in eighth with a time of 45.36. John Conway and Wiktor Karpinski each finished in the consolation final in 12th and 13th, respectively, with times of 45.56 and 45.87.



Michael Glenn was able to take the silver medal in the 200-yard breaststroke, finishing with a time of 2:00.93. Beau Garufi took 13th in the event, touching the wall at time of 2:06.53.

One of the most impressive swims of the evening came in the 200-yard butterfly. Hao Luong, who broke the school record in the qualifying round, bested the record in the evening session, finishing in third with a time of 1:49.05. His sub 1:50 time knocks off the oldest school record in the book, set by Craig Fuller during the 1984-85 season. Eric Zeimetz finished 10th in the event, with a time of 1:51.79. Kyle Vieira came in behind him at a time of 1:55.44.

On the men's three-meter springboard Alexander Merkulov took the silver medal with a score of 310.30, while freshman Josh Koppel took the bronze medal with a score of 297.45.

The final event of the evening was the 400-yard freestyle relay, in which the team of Stiles, Conway, Karpinski and Sacco finished in fourth with a school record time of 3:00.57.

Two Minutemen had NCAA B standard times in the final day of competition. Bomprezzi's time of 15:26.83 in the 1650 free qualifies, while Luong's 1:46.08 swim in the 200 back also qualifies.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago