Men's Swimming

UMass Claims Second-Straight Runner-Up Finish In Atlantic 10 Championships

Josh Koppel receiving his Most Outstanding Diver Award from Lucas Feller of the Atlantic 10 Conference office.

Josh Koppel receiving his Most Outstanding Diver Award from Lucas Feller of the Atlantic 10 Conference office.

Feb. 23, 2014

Complete Results

GENEVA, Ohio - The Massachusetts men's swimming & diving team scored 624 points to finish in second place at the 2014 Atlantic 10 Championships on Saturday.

St Bonaventure won its second-consecutive team title with 718 points.

UMass entered the final night of competition needing to erase an 84-point deficit to St. Bona. The finals got off to a promising start as the margin had been trimmed to 63 following a strong showing in the 1,650 free.

The sophomore trio of Alessandro Bomprezzi (3rd in 15:40.62), Joe Woodman (4th in 15:42.02) and Kyle Vieira (6th in 15:44.88) gave the Minutemen an impressive opening swim. Bomprezzi already had the fastest time in school history (set in last year's A-10s) and Woodman put his name into fourth, while Vieira shaved just over four seconds off his previous best and is now fifth.

UMass gained six more on SBU in the 200 back as four swimmers scored 40 points in the first top 14. Junior Hao Luong medaled for the third-consecutive year by touching 1:46.81 for bronze. Freshman Heath Maginn continued to build upon a solid first year with a fourth-place showing in 1:47.01.

The Bonnies regained some momentum in the 100 free with a 1-2 finish, well ahead of senior Chris Inglis (45.15) and sophomore Brian Stiles (45.26) in seventh and eighth, respectively. Inglis' prelims time of 44.86 was the second-fastest in UMass history.



SBU put the championship out of reach an event later with a 43-point total over four athletes in the 200 breast.

Luong qualified for the championship finals of the 200 fly for the third time and finished eighth, just ahead of ninth and 10th-place freshman teammates Ben Sloan and Maginn.

Sophomore diver Josh Koppel was named the Men's Diver of the Meet, while Mandy Hixon received her fifth Diving Coach of the Year award on the men's side.


    Event Calendar

    Wednesday, Feb 17
    at A-10 Championships All Day
    Thursday, Feb 18
    at A-10 Championships All Day
    Friday, Feb 19
    at A-10 Championships All Day
    Saturday, Feb 20
    at A-10 Championships All Day
    Sunday, Feb 28
    at Brown LCM Invitational TBA
    Tuesday, Mar 8
    at NCAA Zone A Diving Meet All Day
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago