Men's Swimming

Minutemen Win Third Straight A-10 Title

Dylan Smith won the 200-yard butterfly on Saturday.

Dylan Smith won the 200-yard butterfly on Saturday.

Feb. 22, 2003

BUFFALO, N.Y.- The Massachusetts men's swimming and diving team won its third straight Atlantic 10 conference title on Saturday, using strong performances on the last day of the three-day meet to overcome St. Bonaventure, 805 to 752.5, who had led through the first two days of competition. The women's team finished the conference meet in fifth place while Richmond held on to its two day lead to win the title.

Two Minutemen won gold on Saturday, with senior Ryan Zaucha (Auburn, Calif.) placing first in the 200-yard backstroke at 1:50.20, and sophomore Dylan Smith (Timmonium, Md.) winning the 200-yard butterfly in 1:51.20.

UMass' third straight conference title resulted in several accolades for the Minutemen. Head Coach Russ Yarworth was named the Men's Coach of the Year and Zaucha was named the Most Outstanding Performer of the Meet for the men's competition. Zaucha's efforts also earned him a place on the All-Conference team, where he was joined by seniors Justin Houck (Wyomissing, Pa.), Tommy Keane (Melrose, Mass.), Conner Townsend (Memphis, Tenn.) and sophomore Smith.

For the Minutewomen, senior Kate Allery (South Hadley, Mass.) was named the Most Outstanding Diver Award and Mandy Hixon was named the Women's Diving Coach of the Year. Allery was also named to the All-Conference team.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago