Men's Swimming

Men's Swim Team Captures Conference Crown

Justin Zeimetz won three individual events and was a member of two winning relay teams at the championship meet.

Justin Zeimetz won three individual events and was a member of two winning relay teams at the championship meet.

Feb. 21, 2004

Complete Results

Buffalo, N.Y. - The University of Massachusetts men's swimming and diving team has captured its fourth straight Atlantic 10 Conference championship, becoming only the second team in conference history to do so. The Minutemen took the lead on the first day of competition and never looked back, as they won the meet with a convincing 840 points, topping the second-place Bonnies' 586.5 points. The women's team finished the competition in fifth place with 378.5 points.

Once again it was junior Justin Zeimetz (Rochester, N.H.) leading the way for the Minutemen, as he won the 100-yard free with a time of 45.31 and anchored the winning 400-yard free relay team which posted a mark of 3:03.27. Also taking Minuteman victories were senior Conner Townsend (Memphis, Tenn.) with a winning time of 1:51.10 in the 200-yard fly, and freshman Evan Swisher (N. Bennington, Vt.) with a time of 1:51.68 in the 200-yard back. Joining Zeimetz on the 400-yard free relay was freshman Gordon Leonard (Cinnaminson, N.J.), junior Ryan Matthews (Rumson, N.J.) and junior Owen Scollan (Lowell, Mass.).

Yesterday, in day two of the competition, Zeimetz recorded a victory in the 100-yard back with a time of 51.99. Local standout freshman Greg Chartier (Amherst, Mass.) finished first in the 400-yard individual medley with a mark of 3:59.77 and junior Dylan Smith (Timonium, Md.) took first in the 100-yard fly with a time of 49.69.

The Minutewomen went into the final day of competition in third place behind St. Bonaventure, but fell to fifth by the end of the meet. The top finisher on the final day was senior captain Diana Alberti (Wantagh, N.Y.), who took second with a time of 2:06.79. Yesterday, on day two of the competition, freshman Mary Jenkins (Acton, Mass.) won the one-meter dive with a score of 232.10. Also highlighting day two was the 200-yard medley relay team of senior Lauren Rowell (Hamburg, N.Y.), senior Christen Dexter (Centerville, Mass.), Alberti, and freshman Nicole LeBarge (Lee, N.H.), which finished second with a mark of 1:47.63.



The Minutemen finished the season with a record of 4-1, while the women posted a mark of 3-3.
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago