Men's Soccer

UMass Holds Key(s) To All-Conference Honors

Matt Keys was named to the A-10 All-Rookie Team.

Matt Keys was named to the A-10 All-Rookie Team.

Nov. 10, 2011

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass senior defender David Key and freshman defender Matt Keys were each named to Atlantic 10 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams as announced by the league office on Wednesday afternoon. Key was named to the All-Conference Second Team, while Keys was named to the All-Rookie Team.

The Minutemen finished the 2011 season with a 4-13-2 overall record, while posting a 2-5-2 record in Atlantic 10 play. UMass completed the season in 12th place in the Atlantic 10.

Key, one of the top defenders for the Maroon & White, played in 56 career matches tallying four assists. This season he was one of just two players to start all 19 games leading the team in assists with two. The native of Parker, Colo., finished his career 10th all-time in program history for minutes played with 4,437.

Prior to UMass, Key was a three-time All-League selection and a three-time team MVP for Chaparral High School.

Keys, a native of Norfolk, Mass., started all 19 matches in his rookie season scoring one goal. He was third on the team in goals and points. Keys helped the UMass defense pitch five shutouts and a 1.36 goals against average.

Prior to playing at UMass, Keys was a 2011 graduate of King Phillip Regional High School where he was an All-American selection as a senior, the only athlete to be named All-American in King Phillip Regional High School history. He was also named Hockomack League MVP, All-Eastern Mass., All-State and All New England as a senior. Keys was also a three-time defensive and team MVP.

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Duquesne's Joshua Patterson was named the 2011 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year, while Fordham's Ryan Meara and George Washington's Yoni Berhanu were tabbed the league's Defensive Player of the Year and Midfielder of the Year, respectively, in voting conducted among the Conference's head coaches.



In that same vote, Charlotte's Giuseppe Gentile was honored as Rookie of the Year and George Washington veteran head coach George Lidster was selected as Coach of the Year.

Patterson, a junior forward, paced the league in A-10 action in four statistical categories, including points (19), points per game (2.11), goals (8) and goals per game (0.89). The Bowie, Md., native was twice named the Conference's Player of the Week and was also selected to College Soccer News Team of the Week in October. Patterson registered a league-high six points against Massachusetts on Oct. 21, including one of the A-10's two hat tricks this season.

Meara, a senior goalkeeper, anchored a tenacious Fordham defense that recorded 10 shutouts and limited 15 opponents to just one goal or less. The Crestwood, N.Y., native led Fordham to the program's first regular season title after posting an impressive 11-5-1 record in his more than 1500 minutes in front of the net, while leading the league in goals against average (0.57), shutouts (10) and save percentage (.878). Meara also became Rams' all-time shutout leader this season.

Berhanu, a senior, directed the George Washington midfield throughout the season, playing in all 17 of the team's games and leading the league in goals (10) and goals per game (0.59), while ranking second in points (23) and points per game (1.35). The Potomac, Md., native, who led the Colonials to their first regular season title since 1992, was also twice selected A-10 Player of the Week and was also named Disney Soccer/NSCAA National Player of the Week on Nov. 9.

Patterson, Meara and Berhanu are joined on the All-Conference first team by Charlotte's Evan James, Charles Rodriguez and Tyler Gibson; Duquesne's Simon Gomez and Adam Clement; Seth Rudolph of George Washington; Fordham's Nathaniel Bekoe; and Nick Hagglund of Xavier.

The second team is comprised of Charlotte's Giuseppe Gentile and Donnie Smith; Dayton's Jack Pearson; Fordham's John Noyonsaba, Tim Richardson and Ryan Curran; Mike Burke of George Washington; La Salle's John McCarthy and Jason Plumhoff; David Key of Massachusetts; and Luke Spencer of Xavier.

Gentile headlines the All-Rookie team which consists of Dayton's Abe Keller; Fordham's Jack-Tim Murphy; Matthew Scott of George Washington; La Salle's Rob Friskey; Matt Keys of Massachusetts; Matt Sykes of Rhode Island; Richmond's Timmy Albright; Raymond Lee and Robbie Kristo of Saint Louis; and Xavier's Will Walker.

Lidster, who has spent 24 years at George Washington and announced his retirement prior to the 2011 campaign, picks up his third A-10 Coach of the Year citation after guiding the Colonials to their second regular season title with an impressive 7-2 league mark. Lidster's squad will make its 11th A-10 Championship appearance this week in St. Louis and will seek to capture the program's third championship crown (2002, 2004).

The Conference championship will kick-off on Thursday, November 10 at Robert R. Hermann Stadium on the campus of Saint Louis University, as #3 Charlotte takes on #6 Xavier at 5:00PM CT, followed by game two at 7:30PM CT as #4 Temple squares off with #5 La Salle. By receiving the #1 and #2 seeds in this year's championship, both Fordham and George Washington received a first-round bye and will open the A-10 Tournament on Friday, November 11. The Rams will play the lowest remaining seeded team at 5:00PM CT, followed by a 7:30PM CT contest between the Colonials and the highest remaining seeded team to advance out of Thursday's opening round action. The league championship will be played on Sunday, November 13 at 1:00PM CT.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago