Men's Lacrosse

Manny, Smith Named To Preseason All-America Teams

Will Manny enters the 2013 season as one of the top candidates for the Tewaaraton Award

Will Manny enters the 2013 season as one of the top candidates for the Tewaaraton Award

Dec. 6, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - As the 2013 UMass men's lacrosse season draws near, Inside Lacrosse has released its Division I preseason All-American lists from its Face-Off Yearbook. The Minutemen feature Tewaaraton finalist Will Manny on the All-American First Team at attack and long pole defenseman Jake Smith on the Second Team. The Minutemen, ranked No. 1 in the country during parts of the 2012 campaign, look to defend their CAA Championship Title and make their 20th appearance all-time in the NCAA Tournament.

Manny enters the 2013 season as one of the prohibitive favorites for the Tewaaraton Award - college lacrosse's highest individual honors, after being one of five finalists last season. He was also the 2012 New England Player of the Year, the CAA Player of the Year, and a USILA First-Team All-America selection. The native of Massapequa, N.Y. led the Minutemen with 44 goals and 33 assists in 16 games. He finished 2012 3rd in the NCAA for points per game, 8th in assists per game and 9th in goals per game. For his career, he boasts 91 goals, 73 assists and 164 total points in 44 games.

Smith is widely regarded as the top returning close defenseman in the CAA. He earned USILA All-America Honorable Mention last season after causing 11 turnovers and scooping up 28 groundballs. He helped anchor a defense that was one of the top-5 units in the nation and a major part of the man-down defense which was one of the top-10 groups in the country.

The native of Medfield, Mass., has 33 career caused turnovers and 52 groundballs in 36 games played. He enters the 2013 season having started 30 consecutive games.

The Minutemen went 15-1 overall in 2012 including a perfect 6-0 mark en route to the CAA Regular-Season Title. With wins over Towson and Drexel in the CAA Championship Tournament, the UMass claimed its first-ever CAA Championship.



UMass returns three of its top five scorers from last season in Manny, Kyle Smith (33g, 20a) and Colin Fleming (26g, 8a). Smith will anchor a defense which lost three standout starters in All-American Tom Celentani, Greg Anderson and Greg Rushing along with goalie Tim McCormack. Redshirt freshman Zach Oliveri, who helped the U.S. Under 19 National Team win the FIL World Championship this past summer, figures to be the top netminder for the Minutemen entering 2013.


A Rob Pannell Sr. Cornell
A Peter Baum Sr. Colgate
A Marcus Holman Sr. North Carolina
A Will Manny Sr. UMass
M Thomas Schreiber Jr. Princeton
M Jeremy Noble Jr. Denver
M Chris LaPierre Sr. Virginia
M Josh Hawkins Sr. Loyola
FO Chase Carraro Sr. Denver
LSM Jesse Bernhardt Sr. Maryland
D Tucker Durkin Sr. Johns Hopkins
D Joe Fletcher Jr. Loyola
D Brian Megill Sr. Syracuse
D Jason Noble Sr. Cornell
G John Kemp Sr. Notre Dame


A Mike Sawyer Sr. Loyola
A Jordan Wolf Jr. Duke
A Logan Schuss Sr. Ohio State
A Garrett Thul Sr. Army
M Rob Guida Jr. Johns Hopkins
M Jimmy Marlatt Jr. Notre Dame
M John Haus Sr. Maryland
M Adrian Sorichetti Sr. Hofstra
FO RG Keenan Jr. North Carolina
LSM Scott Ratliff Sr. Loyola
D Henry Lobb Jr. Duke
D Goran Murray So. Maryland
D Ty Souders Jr. Lehigh
D Jake Smith Sr. UMass
G Austin Kaut Jr. Penn State


A Zach Palmer Sr. Johns Hopkins
A David DiMaria Sr. Lehigh
A Matt Donovan So. Cornell
A Ryan Walsh So. Colgate
M Rob Emery Jr. Virginia
M John Ranagan Sr. Johns Hopkins
M John Glesener So. Army
M Davis Butts Sr. Loyola
FO John Antoniades Sr. Hofstra
LSM Mason Poli Sr. Bryant
D Maxx Meyer Jr. Penn
D Matt Miller Sr. Notre Dame
D Scott McWilliams Jr. Virginia
D Peter Johnson Sr. Yale
G Niko Amato Jr. Maryland


A Joey Sankey So. North Carolina
A Kieran McArdle Jr. St. John's
A Tucker Hull Jr. Navy
A Dan Eipp Jr. Harvard
A Minutemen Men's Lacrosse HOME

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago