Men's Lacrosse

Biscardi, Celentani Named USILA Scholar All-Americans

Anthony Biscardi and Tom Celentani were each named to the USILA Scholar All-America Team.

Anthony Biscardi and Tom Celentani were each named to the USILA Scholar All-America Team.

June 6, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - Senior midfielder Anthony Biscardi and senior close defenseman Tom Celentani were each named to the 2012 Scholar All-American Team as announced by the USILA. The pair were not only standouts in the class room, but also a pair of the top players at the respective positions as each earned All-American accolades for their play on the field as well.

This marks just the second time in program history that a pair of Minutemen earned Scholar All-American honors in the same season. In 1998, Mike DelPercio and Harold Drumm were both named to the team.

In 1989 the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The USILA Selection Committee selects an overall team representing Division I, II and III. The Scholar All-Americas are recognized at the annual Lacrosse All-America Banquet.

During the 2012 season, Biscardi was also named to the USILA All-America Second Team, All-New England First Team, the All-CAA First Team and was a top-25 Tewaaraton nominee. The native of Wantagh, N.Y., notched 21 goals, 7 assists and 12 groundballs as one of UMass' top midfielders.

One of the Minutemen's top close defensemen, Celentani was also selected to the USILA All-America Third Team, the All-New England First Team and the All-CAA First Team after leading UMass in caused turnovers (24) to go with 32 groundballs.

Despite a loss in the NCAA Tournament First Round, UMass put together a history season in 2012 with a program record 15 wins, a CAA Regular-Season Title, a CAA Tournament Title and an undefeated 13-0 regular-season mark - just the second time in program history that the Minutemen accomplished an unblemished regular-season.



A total of six players earn All-American honors headlined by junior Will Manny who was named to the First Team and was one of the final five finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy.

2012 USILA Scholar All-America Team
Sean Aaron Union College
Rory Averett Goucher College
Joe Banno Haverford College
Matt Bell Villanova University
Greg Bensman Mercyhurst College
Jesse Bernhardt University of Maryland
Anthony Biscardi University of Massachusetts
Ian Bolland Stevenson University
Joe Bonanni The Ohio State University
Tom Celentani University of Massachusetts
Marcus Cheatham Susquehanna University
Charlie Cipriano Fairfield University
Jordan Collins-Hartwig Rochester Institute of Technology
Franc Cook Lynchburg College
Brendan Corcoran Elizabethtown College
CJ Costabile Duke University
Joe Cummings University of Maryland
John Cunningham Princeton University
Bobby Dattilo Hobart College
Kyle Denhoff St. John Fisher College
Ryan Doyle Catholic University
Matthew Egan Bowdoin College
Nick Farrell Denison University
Tyler Fiorito Princeton University
Mark Flibotte Bowdoin College
Rob Fortunato University of Virginia
Eric Gollands Clarkson University
Ward Gruppo Dickinson College
Andrew Gvozden Hofstra University
Dillon Hamill Haverford College
John Haus University of Maryland
Brian Hill Cabrini College
Alex Hofrichter Stevens Institute of Technology
Tyler Hutchinson Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Eric Janssen Adelphi University
Peter Johnson Trinity College
Matt Kawamoto The Ohiio State University
Jeff Keating Roanoke College
Sean Kirwan Tufts University
Brewster Knowlton Western New England College
Roman Lao-Gosney Lehigh University
Cameron Lao-Gosney Lehigh University
Justin Lea Stevenson University
Andrew Liptak Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Matt Livingston Union College
Jameson Love Bryant University
Eric Lusby Loyola University
Matt Lynch Goucher College
Matt Mackrides Penn State University
William Mangan Rutgers University
Vic Marchetti Lycoming College
Carter Mavromatis Hampden-Sydney College
Andrew McCrumb Stevenson University
John McSorley Cabrini College
Ethan Meyer Union College
Tyler Midwinter Randolph-Macon College
Jeff Ocampo Ursinus College
Kevin Randall University of Notre Dame
Justin Rose Pfeiffer University
Robert Rotanz Duke University
Tyler Russell Rochester Institute of Technology
Sam Russell Whittier College
Collin Schmitt Roger Williams University
Andrew Sellers Salisbury University
Eric Small Western Connecticut State University
Michael Steinhauser Stevens Institute of Technology
Scott Stolzenberg Rensselear Polytechnic Institute
Robert Sullivan Union College
Mike Tota SUNY Cortland
Frank Tufano Drexel University
Kevin Vaughan Harvard University
Peter Windsor St. Mary's College of Maryland
Greg Wright SUNY Cortland
Jacob Ziegler Jacksonville University

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago