Men's Lacrosse

Manny, Cannella Headline All-New England Men's Lacrosse Honors

Anthony Biscardi earned All-New England honors for the third time in his career.

Anthony Biscardi earned All-New England honors for the third time in his career.

May 19, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - Junior attack Will Manny added New England Player of the Year accolades to his 2012 resume and Greg Cannella was named the Coach of the Year as the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) announced its annual All-New England Teams. In all, five Minutemen were named to either the first or second team after UMass finished the season with a 15-1 overall record, a berth in the NCAA Tournament, its first-ever CAA Championship Title, and three weeks as the nation's No. 1 ranked team in both major polls.

Manny, who was also the CAA Player of the Year and is one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, earned First-Team All-New England honors at attack. Senior Anthony Biscardi, also a member of the All-CAA First Team and a top-25 Tewaaraton nominee, was named to the All-New England First Team midfield, while senior close defenseman Tom Celentani and redshirt senior goalie Tim McCormack rounded out the First Team honorees for the Minutemen.

Senior Art Kell joins the group as a member of the All-New England Second Team attackmen.

For Cannella, this is the fifth time in his career that he has been named the New England Coach of the Year after doing so in 2001, 2002, 2005 and 2006 as well. The Minutemen's 15 wins set a new program record. UMass made its 19th appearance in the NCAA Tournament including the eighth in Cannella's 18th year at the helm.

Manny was named to the All-New England First Team for the second consecutive year after posting 44 goals and 33 assists in 16 games as a junior. Biscardi notched 21 goals, 7 assists, and 12 groundballs as one of the Minutemen's top midfielders, while Celentani led all players in caused turnovers (24) along with 32 groundballs.



McCormack was named to the First Team after having the best season of his career with a 7.09 goals-against-average and a .606 save percentage to go with a 15-1 record.

Kell closed the season as the Minutemen's No. 2 scorer with 33 goals, 20 assists and 29 groundballs.

UMass captured its 23rd NEILA Championship following the close of the regular season marking the first time since 2006 that the Minutemen captured the title outright. UMass and Harvard shared the title in 2011. Overall, UMass has captured the New England title in 1963, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2011, and 2012. The champion is decided by a coaches poll run throughout the regular season which the Minutemen led wire-to-wire in 2012.


    Event Calendar

    There are no upcoming events.
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago