Men's Lacrosse

Men's Lacrosse Trio Takes In All-New England Awards

Ryan Izzo was selected to the NEILA All-New England First Team for the second consecutive season.

Ryan Izzo was selected to the NEILA All-New England First Team for the second consecutive season.

May 16, 2014

AMHERST, Mass. - The New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association announced its All-New England selections on Friday afternoon, with UMass standouts Ryan Izzo, Nick Mariano and Connor Mooney securing placement on the regional awards listing. Mariano was chosen as the NEILA Rookie of the Year and a NEILA All-Region Second Team attackman. Izzo was selected as the top short-stick defensive midfielder in New England while Mooney earned second team honors with Mariano.

To earn a spot on the first team, Izzo provided 25 groundballs, six caused turnovers and four points via two goals and a pair of assists. It is the second consecutive season the Walpole, Mass., native has appeared on the NEILA All-New England First Team.

Mariano led the Minutemen with 39 points on 29 goals and 10 assists while he added 25 groundballs and five caused turnovers as a starter on attack in each of UMass' 13 games. The Yorktown High School graduate has already been lauded as the CAA Rookie of the Year while he simultaneously earned All-CAA Second Team and CAA All-Rookie Team.

Mooney capped his collegiate career with 38 points through 18 goals and a team-best 20 assists as a senior in 2014. Mooney also provided 10 groundballs and three caused turnovers while running with the first midfield line. For his efforts, Mooney was picked to the 2014 All-CAA Second Team while he was also a NEILA All-New England pick as a junior in 2013.

Complete 2014 NEILA All-Region Teams
Player of the Year
Kevin Massa, Bryant

Rookie of the Year
Nick Mariano, Massachusetts

Coach of the Year
Chris Wojcik, Harvard



Attack - First Team
Conrad Oberbeck, Yale
Brandon Mangan, Yale
Devin Dwyer, Harvard

Midfield - First Team
Colin Dunster, Bryant
Peter Schwartz, Harvard
Alex Zomerfeld, Bryant
T.J. Neubauer, Fairfield

Faceoff Specialist - First Team
Kevin Massa, Bryant

Short-Stick Defensive Midfielder - First Team
Ryan Izzo, Massachusetts

Long-Stick Midfielder - First Team
Brian Fischer, Harvard

Close Defense - First Team
Stephen Jahelka, Harvard
Michael Quinn, Yale
Bobby Duvnjak, Harvard

Goalie - First Team
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant

Attack - Second Team
Nick Mariano, Massachusetts
Colin McLinden, Fairfield
Shane Morrell

Midfield - Second Team
Connor Mooney, Massachusetts
Mark Glicini, Yale
Brendan Caputo, Brown
Pat Corcoran, Quinnipiac

Faceoff Specialist - Second Team
Adam Yee, Hartford

Short-Stick Defensive Midfielder - Second Team
Tate Klidonas, Hartford

Long-Stick Midfielder - Second Team
Alex Mattarazzo, Hartford

Close Defense - Second Team
Toby Armour, Fairfield
Matt MacGrotty, Bryant
Bobby Osgood, Dartmouth

Goalie - Second Team
Gill Conners, Quinnipiac

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago