Men's Lacrosse

Godoi & Hayes Named All-New England 1st Team

Bobby Hayes was third on the team in scoring and had points in all 14 games this season.

Bobby Hayes was third on the team in scoring and had points in all 14 games this season.

May 13, 2010

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass senior captains Diogo Godoi and Bobby Hayes were named to the All-New England First Team. Sophomore midfielder Anthony Biscardi was named to the second team. Both Godoi and Hayes have been named to the first team for the second year in a row, also earning honors in 2009.

Godoi was a first-team All-CAA defenseman while both Hayes and Biscardi were named to the CAA Second Team.

Godoi, who was a candidate for the Tewaaraton Trophy was among the top defenders in the country. He finished his senior season with 24 groundballs and 22 caused turnovers, second on the team and third in the CAA. He also scored his first-career goal vs. Towson on April 10. He was an All-ECAC First-Team pick last season.

Hayes was third on the team in scoring and had points in all 14 games this season. He finished with career-best of 20 goals and 14 assists for 34 points. He had six multi-goal games including the first four games of the season. He netted a career-best four goals in the opener at Sacred Heart on Feb. 12. Hayes was All-ECAC Second Team in 2009.

Biscradi emerged in his first season as a starter on offense. He was second on the team with 35 points and tied for second in goals (21) and assists (14). He had points in 12 of 14 games and at least three points on 10 occasions. He netted hat tricks vs. Harvard and Towson.

2010 Division I All-New England Team

First Team                   Second Team

Attack Attack Thomas Muldoon, Brown Ari Sussman, Dartmouth Matt Gibson, Yale Dean Gibbons, Harvard Andrew Feinberg, Brown Brendan Gibson, Yale

Midfield Midfield Bobby Hayes, Massachusetts Matt Fuchs, Yale Max Weisenberg, Bryant Carter Bender, Hartford Greg Mahony, Yale Anthony Biscardi, Massachusetts Reade Seligman, Brown Matt Miller, Yale Brent Adams, Fairfield Todd Kaiser, Quinnipiac David Hawley, Brown Terry White, Harvard

Long-Stick Midfielder Long-Stick Midfielder Sean Bannon, Fairfield Anthony Ianello, Bryant

Defense Defense Peter Fallon, Brown Matt Murnane, Bryant Casey Hingtgen, Dartmouth Doug Broussard, Holy Cross Diogo Godoi, Massachusetts Mike McCormick, Yale

Goalie Goalie Jameson Love, Bryant Fergus Campbell, Dartmouth

Specialist Specialist Andrew Hennessey, Bryant Nick Tsouris, Yale

Player of the Year Matt Gibson, Yale

Rookie of the Year Roger Ferguson, Brown

Coach of the Year Andy Shay, Yale



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago