Men's Lacrosse

Morris, Reid Earn ECAC's Top Honors

Sean Morris is the first back-to-back ECAC Offensive Player of the Year since Steve Dusseau in 2001-02.

Sean Morris is the first back-to-back ECAC Offensive Player of the Year since Steve Dusseau in 2001-02.

May 11, 2006

CAPE COD, Mass. - Cape Cod, Mass. - In a vote by the league coaches, Massachusetts senior Sean Morris has been named ECAC Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Jack Reid, also of Massachusetts, has been tabbed the 2006 ECAC Defensive Player of the Year, while Penn State's Drew Adams has earned both the Goalkeeper and Rookie of the Year honors. First year head coach Charley Toomey of Loyola has been selected as the 2006 ECAC Coach of the Year.

Morris is the first back-to-back ECAC Offensive Player of the Year since Steve Dusseau of Georgetown in 2001-02. Reid is the first UMass player to be named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year. This year marks the first time since 2002 that the same school had the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year when Georgetown did.

Named the 2006 ECAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, Morris led the Minutemen to a 10-4 overall finish and a berth to the NCAA tournament. As the captain of the 2006 squad, Morris has been recognized as one of the nation's top players. A 2005 Tewaaraton Trophy finalist and a 2006 Tewaaraton nominee, Morris garnered 2006 Preseason First Team All American honors. In April of this year, Morris was featured in Sports Illustrated "Faces in the Crowd" for leading the nation in scoring per game and assists. In addition, at the time of the award, he had recorded a 32-game point-scoring streak and has scored goals in 27 straight games. For the year, Morris led the Minutemen in points (58), goals (26) and assists (32), and finished the season ranking fifth in the nation in points per game (4.14), assists and assists per game (2.29). He also ended his career fourth in total points. Morris has earned a spot on the 2006 ECAC All-League team as an attackman.

Morris is joined by teammate Reid who also garnered 2006 ECAC Preseason honors as the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. Reid has been named a candidate for the Schmeisser Award, which recognizes the nation's top defenseman, as well as a 2006 Tewaaraton nominee. Reid was a second team All American in 2005. He led the Minutemen in caused turnovers with 32 and is second on the team in ground balls with 54. The senior captain has been recognized as one of the nation's top close-defensemen. Reid has been named to the 2006 ECAC All-League team as a defenseman.

In his first season for the Lions, Penn State's Drew Adams earned this year's Goalkeeper and Rookie honors. Starting 11 games, Adams boasted a 8.21 goals against average. He recorded 165 saves in his rookie season and earned a 0.604 save percentage. He helped the Nittany Lions to an 8-5 overall finish and an appearance in the ECAC Championship. Adams has been named the goalkeeper for the 2006 ECAC All-League team. Six of the eight teams are represented in the 2006 ECAC All-League team including four from Penn State, three from Georgetown, and two from Massachusetts. The 2006 ECAC All-League team includes attackmen Dan Bowers of Loyola (Junior), Brendan Cannon of Georgetown (Sophomore), and Penn State's Nate Whitaker (Senior), midfielders Pete Cannon of Georgetown (Senior), Fairfield's Greg Downing (Junior), and Penn State's Pat Heim (Junior), and defensemen Reyn Garnett of Georgetown (Junior) and Penn State's Dan Saltsman (Junior).

Established in 1999, the ECAC Lacrosse League is a Division I men's lacrosse league. Charter members Georgetown, Massachusetts, Penn State, and Rutgers added Hobart College, Loyola College (Md.) and St. John's University in 2005. This year, Fairfield University joined to cap the league at eight.

2006 ECAC® All-League Honors

Sean Morris, Massachusetts Sr.

Jack Reid, Massachusetts Sr.

Drew Adams, Penn State Fr.

Drew Adams, Penn State Fr.

Charley Toomey, Loyola

A Dan Bauers, Loyola Jr.
A Brendan Cannon, Georgetown So.
A Sean Morris, Massachusetts# Sr.
A Nate Whitaker, Penn State Sr.
M Pete Cannon, Georgetown Sr.
M Greg Downing, Fairfield Jr.
M Pat Heim, Penn State# Jr.
D Reyn Garnett, Georgetown Jr.
D Jack Reid, Massachusetts# Sr.
D Dan Saltsman, Penn State Jr.
G Drew Adams, Penn State Fr.
# 2005 All-ECAC

A Trevor Casey, Georgetown Jr.
A Brian Boyle, Penn State Jr.
A Travis Nelson, Fairfield So.
A Daryl Veltman, Hobart So.
M Greg Gurenlian, Penn State Sr.
M Dave Paolisso, Georgetown Gr.
M Andrew Spack, Loyola Jr.
D Matt Blocklet, Fairfield So.
D Steven Hess, Loyola Jr.
D Jerry Lambe, Georgetown Jr.
G Mike Fretwell, Loyola Sr.




    Event Calendar

    Saturday, Feb 13
    at [RV] Army West Point 11:00 AM
    Saturday, Feb 20
    vs #11 Ohio State 12:00 PM gametracker watch
    Saturday, Feb 27
    vs Harvard 3:00 PM gametracker watch
    Tuesday, Mar 1
    vs Hartford 3:00 PM gametracker watch
    Saturday, Mar 5
    at Brown 1:00 PM gametracker
    Tuesday, Mar 8
    vs Albany 3:00 PM gametracker watch
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago