Men's Lacrosse

Will Manny Named Finalist For Tewaaraton Award

Will Manny is one of five finalists for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award.

Will Manny is one of five finalists for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award.

May 10, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - After leading the UMass men's lacrosse team to the NCAA Tournament, a No. 1 national ranking, a CAA Championship, and an undefeated record, junior attack Will Manny (Massapequa, N.Y.) was announced today as one of five finalist for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award which goes to the nation's most outstanding college lacrosse player. Manny is the first Minuteman since Sean Morris in 2006 to be named one of the final five finalist for the award.

For the third consecutive season, Manny has led UMass in scoring with 75 points on 43 goals and 32 assists in 15 games. He ranks 3rd nationally in points per game and sixth nationally in both goals and assists per game. The 2012 CAA Player of the Year, Manny had multi-point games in every contest this season including seven games with 6+ points.

The 2012 season marked career-highs in all categories for Manny who has now played in 44 career games with 92 goals and 73 assists for 165 career points - the 11th most in program history.

Manny started the season with a nine point showing at Army thanks to a career-high seven goals and two assists. He followed that up with a seven point showing against Bucknell with three goals and four assists.

Twice during the season Manny tied his career-high in assists with five against Saint Joseph's (along with three goals) and five against Towson in the CAA Semifinal Game.

In the CAA Championship game against Drexel, he scored three goals, while adding an assist.

A three-time All-CAA Selection, the junior is a key component in the Minutemen's first offensive attack as Kyle Smith (33g, 17a) and Art Kell (30g, 20a) have posted banner years as well. the trio has accounted for 175 of UMass' 325 points and 106 of the Minutemen's 196 goals.

Manny is the second player from UMass to become one of the top five finalists for the Tewaaraton. Sean Morris did so in both 2005 and 2006. The other four finalists for the 2012 award are Colgate attack Peter Baum, Duke midfielder C.J. Costabile, Loyola attack Mike Sawyer, and Virginia attack Steele Stanwick. Stanwick won the award in 2011.



Saturday's NCAA Tournament First Round will match Manny vs. Baum at Garber Field beginning at 2:30 PM and televised nationally on ESPNU.

The five finalists will attend the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 31 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.


    Event Calendar

    There are no upcoming events.
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago