Ice Hockey

Paul Dainton Earns Third Hockey East Rookie of the Week Honor

Dainton made 17 saves in the second period alone against UNH

Dainton made 17 saves in the second period alone against UNH

Dec. 11, 2007

AMHERST, Mass. - Freshman goaltender Paul Dainton was named the Hockey East Rookie of the Week for his 32 save performance in a 4-1 win over then No. 7 New Hampshire on Saturday, December 8 at the Mullins Center. He has now earned the honor three times this season. UMass has moved up to No. 9 in both the USA Today/USA Hockey and Hockey polls.

Turning away 32 of 33 shots on goal, Dainton helped the Mass Attack earn a big win over conference rival New Hampshire. Dainton now has a 2.01 goals against average and a .929 save percentage, both ranking second among all Hockey East goaltenders. He improved his record in 12 starts to 5-3-4 this season. Dainton posted his first career shutout on November 30 in a scoreless tie at Cornell.

The No. 9 Minutemen will return to action on Saturday, December 29 against No. 6 Notre Dame in the Lightning College Hockey Classic at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Fla., and then play either No. 3 Colorado College or No. 16 Rensselaer on Sunday, December 30. UMass will return to the Mullins Center on Friday, January 11 to face UNH once again. For tickets, visit or call 866-UMASS-TIX.




    Event Calendar

    Saturday, Nov 28
    at #3 Quinnipiac L, 1-0
    Friday, Dec 4
    at #18 Notre Dame 7:35 PM gametracker
    Saturday, Dec 5
    at #18 Notre Dame 6:05 PM gametracker
    Friday, Dec 11
    vs Union 7:00 PM gametracker watch
    Friday, Dec 18
    vs U.S. National Team 7:00 PM gametracker watch
    Saturday, Jan 2
    at Army West Point 7:05 PM
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago