Ice Hockey

Hockey East Media Kicks-Off 2010-11 Season

Brock Hines

Brock Hines

Sept. 29, 2010

BOSTON - Members of the UMass hockey team took part in the festivities of Hockey East Media Day on Wednesday at the TD Garden in Boston kicking-off the 2010-11 season. Captain Paul Dainton, assistant captains Danny Hobbs, Michael Marcou and Danny Hobbs all met with the media alongside head coach Don "Toot" Cahoon. Color analyst Brock Hines was named the Joe Concannon Media Award Winner.

Massachusetts was selected in the ninth spot with 26 points. Senior goaltender Paul Dainton will be a key component for Massachusetts this year with the early signings of Matt Irwin, James Marcou and Casey Wellman. Junior forward T.J. Syner will be asked to take an increased role UMass offense, after coming off a 20-point sophomore campaign in Amherst.

Complete Hockey East Release

Team (1st Place Votes) Pts.
1. Boston College (9) 90
2. Maine (1) 80
3. New Hampshire 76
4. Boston University 59
5. Northeastern 54
6. Vermont 53
7. Merrimack 48
8. UMass Lowell 33
9. Massachusetts 26
10. Providence 21

Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced on Wednesday at the league's annual media day that UMass' Brock Hines has been named the 19th recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award. Hines begins his 18th season in 2010-2011 serving as color commentator for the UMass Sports Network. Hines also hosts the intermission report and conducts pre-game and post-game interviews at the Mullins Center and on the road with the Minutemen. He started when the UMass program was resurrected in 1993.

Past radio experience for Hines includes hockey color commentary and football sideline reporting for Greenfield High School from 1989-1992. He just completed a 26-year run of hosting a weekly radio show at Deerfield's WGAJ-FM, In addition to his hockey duties at UMass, Hines also provided color for the Minutewomen basketball team during the 1999-2000 and 2000-01 seasons. In his tenure, he has teamed to win the Massachusetts Broadcaster award and a MA/RI Associated Press award for Best Sports Broadcast.

Hines is the president of the Albert B. Allen Insurance Agency in Greenfield where he has been since 1983 and is past president of the Professional Independent Insurance Agents of Franklin and Hampshire Counties. He and his wife Laurie reside in Montague, Mass.

Hines played and coached hockey for over 25 years. He graduated from Deerfield Academy in 1979 and with a finance degree from Babson College in 1983.

The award was renamed in memory of long-time Boston Globe Sportswriter Joe Concannon in 2001. Each recipient has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting Hockey East over an extended period.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. Founded in 1983, the men's league has won seven NCAA championships in the past 18 years.

1992 Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News
1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1999 Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network
2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald
2003 Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates
2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
2005 Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media
2006 Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio / CodRock Media
2007 Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
2008 Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
2009 Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network




    Event Calendar

    July 18
    vs Pond Club Golf Event, Orchards G.C. TBA
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago