Ice Hockey

Braun, Marcou Named To New England All-Star Team

James Marcou

James Marcou

April 2, 2010

AMHERST, Mass. - Justin Braun and James Marcou have been named to the 2009-10 New England Hockey Writers All-Star Team as announced on Friday morning. The All-Star Team is selected by voting from Division I coaches and media throughout New England. Braun was given the Bob Monahan Award as the region's top defenseman. This marks the second straight season Marcou has been named to the All-Star Team.

The pair will be honored along with the rest of the All-Star Team on April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.

Carter Hutton (UMass Lowell) and Brian Foster (New Hampshire) were named New England's top goalies. Along with Braun, Blake Kessel (UNH), Colby Cohen (Boston University) and Tom Dignard (Yale) were named to the defense. Marcou, Bobby Butler (UNH), Gustav Nyquist (Maine), Brian Gibbons (Boston College), Nick Johnson (Sacred Heart), and Broc Little (Yale) were named as the team's forwards.

Following UMass' season, both Braun and Marcou signed with the NHL's San Jose Sharks. Braun was a 2007 Entry Draft Pick of the Sharks organization.

For the season, Braun, a native of Vadnais Heights, Minn., played in all 36 games scoring eight goals while adding 23 assists. He finished the year with a plus-3 rating while taking just 15 penalties for 30 PIMs. He was named the Hockey East Defensive Player of the Year and was named to the Hockey East All-Star First Team.

Braun finished his career playing in 150 games which tied Cory Quirk '09 for the school record. In all, Braun scored 23 goals, added 65 assists, and was a plus-12. His 88 points are tied for 18th all-time, while his 65 assists are 7th overall.

In Hockey East, Braun ranked second in defenseman scoring, 20th overall in points for the season, ninth in assists, sixth in power play points (3-16-19). Nationally, he ranked sixth in defenseman scoring.



In 2008-09, Braun was named a Hockey East Second-Team All-Star and the UMass MVP. As a freshman in 2006-07, he earned league and team Rookie of the Year honors. Additionally, in each of his three seasons, Braun has been a nominee for the Hobey Baker Award.

Marcou led UMass in scoring for the third straight season after posting 11 goals and a school single-season record 40 assists. His 51 points were the fourth most in program history for a season, while his 96 career assists is a new UMass record.

He finished the season tied for fourth nationally in points per game and first in assists per game. In Hockey East, Marcou ranked second in points, second in assists and first in power play points (4-22-26)

In 111 career games, the native of Kings Park, New York scored 34 goals and added 96 assists.

For much of the year, Marcou led the nation in points and assists and was a front-runner for the Hobey Baker Award. The assistant captain was a two-time nominee for the award and a three-time nominee for the Walter Brown Award.

In 2008-09, he was named to the New England Hockey Writers All-Star Team, the Hockey East All-Star First Team, the Hockey East All-Academic Team, and was named UMass Co-MVP with Braun. He became the first-ever UMass player to finish the year as the Hockey East scoring champion alongside Colin Wilson of Boston University.

As a rookie in 2007-08, Marcou earned Hockey East All-Rookie Team, Hockey East All-Academic Team, and UMass Rookie of the Year honors.

2009-10 New England Men's Division I All-Stars

Carter Hutton (UMass Lowell)
Brian Foster (New Hampshire)

Blake Kessel (New Hampshire)
Justin Braun (Massachusetts)
Colby Cohen (Boston University)
Tom Dignard (Yale)

Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)
Gustav Nyquist (Maine)
James Marcou (Massachusetts)
Brian Gibbons (Boston College)
Nick Johnson (Sacred Heart)
Broc Little (Yale)

2009-10 New England Hockey Awards
Clark Hodder Award - Division I Coach of the Year

Mark Dennehy (Merrimack)

Leonard Fowle Award - Most Valuable Player
Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)

George C. Carens Award - Rookie of the Year
Stephane Da Costa (Merrimack)

Herb Gallagher Award - Best Forward
Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)

Bob Monahan Award - Best Defenseman
Justin Braun (Massachusetts)

Paul Hines Award - Most Improved Player
Cam Atkinson (Boston College)

Frank Jones Award - Best Defensive Forward
Ben Holmstrom (UMass Lowell)

Parker/York Award - Contribution to New England Hockey
Ned Bunyon (NIHOA)


    Event Calendar

    July 18
    vs Pond Club Golf Event, Orchards G.C. TBA
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago