Ice Hockey

James Marcou Named Semi-Finalist For 57th Walter Brown Award

James Marcou

James Marcou

Feb. 3, 2009

BOSTON - Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Tim Whelan announced today that sixteen NCAA Division One players are semi-finalists for the fifty-seventh Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England. UMass winger James Marcou has been named a semi-finalist for the second consecutive season after having an outstanding sophomore season so far as the Minutemen's leading scorer and being one of the top playmakers in Hockey East.

The candidates include eleven players from Hockey East, four from the ECAC Hockey League, and one from Atlantic Hockey. The slate comprises 12 forwards, one goalie, and three defensemen. Northeastern University, which did not have a semifinalist last year, boasts three in 2009 while Boston University has two. Four nominees, Boston College senior forward Benn Ferriero, Providence senior defenseman Matt Taormina, New Hampshire sophomore forward James van Riemsdyk, and Massachusetts sophomore forward James Marcou, were all semifinalists for last year's award, which was won by New Hampshire goalie Kevin Regan.

The only goaltender on the 2009 semifinalists' list is Brown University junior Dan Rosen, who was a semifinalist as a freshman two years ago. Defensemen on the list in addition to Taormina are Boston University senior Matt Gilroy and Northeastern senior Louis Liotti.

The remaining forwards from Hockey East schools are Northeastern seniors Ryan Ginand and Joe Vitale; BU senior Chris Higgins; UMass-Lowell junior Kory Falite; and Vermont senior Peter Lenes.

ECAC Hockey League forwards are Yale junior Sean Backman; Dartmouth sophomore Adam Estoclet; and Quinnipiac senior David Marshall.

The lone nominee from Atlantic Hockey and the first ever from Bentley College is senior forward Dain Prewitt.

"This has been a very interesting season to date in Eastern hockey, with several more teams in contention for the respective league titles and home ice playoff berths than we've seen in previous years," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello.



"That competitiveness has made the task of drawing up a list of semifinalists for this year's Walter Brown Award even more difficult than usual. Not everyone who received serious consideration was able to make the cut. We look forward to tracking the semifinalists closely through the stretch run and playoffs."

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 57th Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play.

The Walter Brown Award
Commemorating the life and works of America's greatest sportsman, the Walter Brown Award is given annually to the outstanding American-born college hockey player in New England. The Walter Brown Award is the oldest nationally recognized honor accorded to individual players in the sport of American college hockey. Brown coached the United States to its first world hockey championship in 1933. The U.S. team, the Massachusetts Rangers, comprised players from Boston College, Boston University, Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, Notre Dame, and Boston Commerce High School. The Americans defeated the Toronto National Sea Fleas, coached by Harold Ballard, 2-1 in overtime in the final game of the 1933 World Tournament at Prague, Czechoslovakia. It was also America's first win over a team from Canada and the first loss ever suffered by the Canadians in international play. The U.S. team members established the Walter Brown award at their 20th reunion in 1953. Criteria for the selection committee include leadership, character, sportsmanship, and ability as well as on-ice achievement. The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has been the steward of the Walter Brown Award since 1977.

2008-2009 Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Officers: Tim Whelan, President; Steve Grogan, First Vice President; Fran Allen, Second Vice President; Ray Gallant, Third Vice President; Dick Lawrence, Secretary; Paul Costello, Treasurer; Edmund (Ned) Cully, Historian.

2008-2009 Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Selection Committee and Advisory Board: Tim Costello, Chairman; Joe Bertagna, Tom Burke, Paul Costello, Ned Cully, Bob DeGregorio, Kevin Fleming, Steve Hagwell, Dick Lawrence, Hon. Gordon A. Martin, Jr., Bob Norton, Paul Stewart, and William J. Stewart III.

Walter Brown Award Winners
1953 Ray Picard Northeastern
1954 Bob Babine Boston College
1955 Bill Cleary Harvard
1956 R.J. Cavanaugh Northeastern
1957 Bob Cleary Harvard
1958 Bob Cleary Harvard
1959 Mike Karin Middlebury
1960 Art Chisholm Northeastern
1961 Tom Martin Boston College
1962 Dave Grannis Harvard
1963 Bill Hogan Boston College
1964 Richie Green Boston University
1965 Bob Gaudreau Brown
1966 John Cunniff Boston College
1967 Jerry York Boston College
1968 Tim Sheehy Boston College
1969 Paul Hurley Boston College
1970 Tim Sheehy Boston College
1971 Joe Cavanagh Harvard
1972 Bob McManama Harvard
1973 Tom Mellor Boston College
1974 Ed Walsh Boston University
1975 Ron Wilson Providence
1976 Richie Smith Boston College
1977 Bob Miller New Hampshire
1978 Joe Mullen Boston College
1979 Ralph Cox New Hampshire
1980 Bill Army Boston College
1981 Mark Switaj Boston College
1982 Chuck Marshall Northeastern
1983 Mark Fusco Harvard
1984 Cleon Daskalakis Boston University
1985 Tim Army Providence
1986 Scott Fusco Harvard
Scott Harlow Boston College
1987 Brian Leetch Boston College
1988 Mike McHugh Maine
1989 Lane MacDonald Harvard
1990 Greg Brown Boston College
1991 Dave Emma Boston College
1992 Rob Gaudreau Providence
1993 Dave Sacco Boston University
1994 Jacques Joubert Boston University
1995 Mike Grier Boston University
1996 Jay Pandolfo Boston University
1997 Chris Drury Boston University
1998 Chris Drury Boston University
1999 Mike Mottau Boston College
Mike Omicioli Providence
2000 Mike Mottau Boston College
2001 Ty Conklin New Hampshire
Brian Gionta Boston College
2002 Jim Fahey Northeastern
2003 Mike Ayers New Hampshire
2004 Steve Saviano New Hampshire
2005 Dov Grumet-Morris Harvard
2006 Chris Collins Boston College
2007 John Curry Boston University
2008 Kevin Regan New Hampshire


    Event Calendar

    July 18
    vs Pond Club Golf Event, Orchards G.C. TBA
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago