Ducasse, Holmes Named To CSN's Fabulous 50

Vladimir Ducasse joined Tyler Holmes on the CSN Fabulous Fifty Team.

Vladimir Ducasse joined Tyler Holmes on the CSN Fabulous Fifty Team.

Dec. 29, 2009

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass senior offensive tackle Vladimir Ducasse and sophomore linebacker Tyler Holmes were named to the College Sporting News Fabulous Fifty Team. Unlike other All-American teams, the CSN honor's squad is designed to be like a real team, capable of taking the field and competing in a game. Senior kicker Armando Cuko was named to the Honorable Mention squad as well.

For Ducasse, it is his third national first-team honor this postseason. The NFL Draft prospect was also named to the Associated Press and Sports Network All-American First Teams. Ducasse was also named to the All-CAA First Team and New England Football Writers All-Star Team. In his 35 career starts, UMass had a 100-yard rusher in 23 of those games. In his 35 games, UMass has allowed just 39 sacks. In 2009, UMass allowed 17 sacks (1.4 per game), 38th in the NCAA, 3rd in CAA. UMass had a 100-yard rusher in seven games this season (five by Tony Nelson and two by Jonathan Hernandez).

Holmes, who was a second-team All-CAA selection, led UMass in tackles with 110 (second in CAA and eighth in NCAA) 11.0 per game in 10 starts in 2009. He was the team leader in interceptions with four and team-best nine passes defended. He also had 6.5 TFLs for 14 yards. Holmes finished fourth in CAA in interceptions per game (0.44 per game). In the last six games he played in 2009, he had 78 tackles (13.0 per game). Holmes had five games during season with 10 or more tackles.

Cuko was also named the AFCA First-Team All-American and the Sports Network Third Team All-American. He was also named the CAA Third-Team kicker this season after a record-setting career at UMass. He finished as the all-time UMass career made field goals leader (31) and as the all-time UMass single-season made field goals leader (19) in 2009. The record previously was 16, held by both Chris Koepplin and Sandro Vitiello. He finished eighth in career scoring in UMass history with 196 and second in career made PATs with 103, passed Chris Koepplin with 99 in final college game. He made 11 career field goals of more than 40 yards (seven in senior year) including a career-long of 51, tied for third-longest at UMass.



The release from College Sporting News is here:

50 players and head coach Henry Frazier III make up the 2009 edition of the Fabulous Fifty Team for Division I Football Championship Subdivision All-American honors from College Sporting News as selected by staff members. Including the honorable mention selections, 138 student-athletes from 71 schools are represented.

Unlike other All-American teams, the CSN honor's squad is designed to be like a real team, capable of taking the field and competing in a game. It includes everything from quarterbacks who can run or pass, often overlooked fullbacks, to a long snapper and other special teams performers.



Coach of the Year: Henry Frazier III, Prairie View A&M
Offensive Player of the Year: Armanti Edwards, Appalachian State
Defensive Player of the Year: Arthur Moats, James Madison
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Matt McCracken, Richmond
Freshman of the Year: Brent Russell, Georgia Southern
Playoff Most Valuable Player: Matt Szczur, Villanova


QB Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin
QB Ryan Perriloux, Jacksonville State
RB Chase Reynolds, Montana
RB Deji Karim, Southern Illinois*
FB Tommy Fraser, Coastal Carolina
AB Terrence Holt, Austin Peay
C Kyle Mutcher, Weber State
OG Dorian Brooks, James Madison
OG Terran Hillesland, Montana
OT Levi Horn, Montana
OT Vladimir Ducasse, Massachusetts
OL Michael Silva, Richmond
TE Clay Harbor, Missouri State*
TE Scott Sicko, New Hampshire*
WR Duane Brooks, Stephen F. Austin*
WR Marc Mariani, Montana
WR Mike Brown, Liberty
WR Terrell Hudgins, Elon*
WR Tysson Poots, Southern Utah


DT Martin Parker, Richmond
DT Sean Lissemore, William & Mary
DE Adrian Tracy, William & Mary*
DE Christian Anthony, Grambling State*
DL Danny Batten, South Dakota State
DL Jared Green, Mississippi Valley State
DL Josh Beard, Chattanooga
DL Tim Knicky, Stephen F. Austin
LB D.J. Smith, Appalachian State
LB Eric McBride, Richmond
LB J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington*
LB Matt Cohen, Lehigh
LB Tyler Holmes, Massachusetts
CB Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina
CB T.J. Heath, Jacksonville State
DB Beau Hadley, Weber State
DB James Vercammen, Dayton
DB Jason House, Southern
DB Terrence Klein, New Hampshire
S Anthony Beck, Prairie View A&M
S Mark LeGree, Appalachian State


K Matt Bevins, Liberty*
P Jon Vanderweilen, Idaho State
KR Scotty McGee, James Madison
PR LeRoy Vann, Florida A&M*
LS Dustin Phillips, Old Dominion

*-Unanimous selection

(Players named here received more than one vote at the following positions and might have also been on the Fab 50 team but were also cited as considerations for other honors)

K.J. Black, Prairie View A&M
Derrick Fourroux, McNeese State
Dominic Randolph, Holy Cross
Eric Ward, Richmond
Chris Whitney, Villanova

William Ford, South Carolina State
James Mallory, Central Connecticut State
Kyle Minett, South Dakota State
Pat Paschall, North Dakota State
Todd Pendland, McNeese State

Everette Benjamin, Hofstra
Bobby McClintock, Portland State
Marlin Meeks, Nicholls State
Steve Platek, Drake
Jordan Yocum, Cal Poly

Xavier Manuel, Alabama A&M
Ryan McKnight, South Dakota State
Chaz Millard, Eastern Illinois
Paul Fenaroli, Stony Brook
Austin Steichen, Northern Iowa

Offensive Guard
Mario Actiilli, Appalachian State
Tyler Chambers, Jacksonville State
Jeff Hansen, Montana State
David Harrison, Elon
Pat Illig, Wofford
Robert Ogletree, Mississippi Valley State
Hunter Schmidt, Sam Houston State
Ben Sessions, Harvard

Offensive Tackle
Keith Buckman, North Dakota State
Johnny Culbreath, South Carolina State
Karl Glimp, Stephen F. Austin
Derek Hardman, Eastern Kentucky
Ben Ijalana, Villanova
Robert Okeafor, Florida A&M
Casey Richter, McNeese State
James Williams, Harvard

Tight End
Nathan Overbay, Eastern Washington

Wide Receiver
Jason Caldwell, Fordham
Matt Cline, Appalachian State
Buddy Farnham, Brown
De'Marcus Griggs, Texas State
Andre Roberts, The Citadel
Pat Simonds, Colgate
Juamorris Stewart, Southern
Tim Toone, Weber State
Oliver "Tre" Young, South Carolina State

Defensive End
Tim Kukucka, Villanova
James Ruffin, Northern Iowa

Defensive Tackle
Christian Clark, Sacramento State
Ian Dell, Lafayette
Kendrick Ellis, Hampton
Phil Matusz, Villanova

Nick Andre, Marist
Kadarron Anderson, Furman
Josh Bey, Tennessee-Martin
Rob Damon, Rhode Island
Derek Domino, South Dakota State
Devin Ducote, Stephen F Austin
DeJuan Flughum, Texas Southern
Kyle Glazier, Western Illinois
Brandin Jordan, Southern Illinois
Adrian Hardy, Alabama State
Shawn Lebsock, Montana
Adrian McLeod, Western Carolina
Terence Thomas, Villanova
Antoine Wilkinson, Missouri State
Jabara Williams, Stephen F. Austin

Phillip Adams, South Carolina State
Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky
Korey Lindsey, Southern Illinois
Colin Pretlow, Southern Utah
Justin Rogers, Richmond
Karlos Sullivan, Elon
Dino Vasso, New Hampshire
De'Markus Washington, Texas Southern

Defensive Back/Safety
Cory Barlow, Stephen F. Austin
Charles Graves, Delaware
Kerry Hoskins, Jackson State
Shann Schillinger, Montana

Eddie Carmona, Central Arkansas
Armando Cuko, Massachusetts
Zach Kutch, Illinois State
Brian Pate, William & Mary

Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion
Mike Snoy, Weber State
Pedro Ventura, Prairie View A&M
Trevor Ward, Southern Utah

Kick Returner
Terrence Holt, Austin Peay
Mareo Howard, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Punt Returner
Marc Mariani, Montana
Andre Roberts, The Citadel
Kiare Thompson, Grambling State
Tim Toone, Weber State

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago