Holmes Added To Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

Holmes leads the 2010 Minutemen in tackles with 51

Holmes leads the 2010 Minutemen in tackles with 51

Oct. 4, 2010

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass Football co-captain Tyler Holmes has been added to the 2010 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List, sponsored by The award is in its 16th season as the top FCS individual honor for defensive players, and will be announced at the national awards banquet on Thursday, January 6 in Frisco, Texas - the night before the national championship game.

Holmes, a 6-foot, 220-pound junior, doesn't have prototypical size for a linebacker, but his instincts and relentless style make him highly productive. He helped Massachusetts to big month of September, including a win over then- No. 4 William & Mary and a five-point loss at Michigan. He also posted a career-high 18 tackles against Towson last weekend.

Overall, he has totaled 51 tackles, including eight for losses, intercepted three passes and forced two fumbles in five games. As a sophomore in 2009, Holmes was eighth in the FCS with 11 tackles per game and added four interceptions and a team-high nine passes defended.

Also added to the Watch List was linebacker Antoine Wilkinson of Missouri State, as well as cornerback Eugene Clifford of Tennessee State.

Joining Clifford, Holmes and Wilkinson on the Buchanan Award Watch List are defensive tackles Kenrick Ellis of Hampton and Martin Parker of Richmond; defensive ends Christian Clark of Sacramento State, Jabari Fletcher of Appalachian State and Malcolm Taylor of Alcorn State; linebackers Eric McBride of Richmond, J.C. Sherritt of Eastern Washington (last year's runner-up for the award), Bryce Smith of Samford, D.J. Smith of Appalachian State, Terence Thomas of Villanova and Jabara Williams of Stephen F. Austin; cornerbacks Jeremy Caldwell of Eastern Kentucky, Korey Lindsey of Southern Illinois, Trumaine Johnson of Montana and Justin Rogers of Richmond; and strong safeties Mark LeGree of Appalachian State and James Vercammen of Dayton.

Other preseason nominees were Grambling State defensive end Christian Anthony, Southern University free safety Jason House and Southern Illinois free safety Mike McElroy.



The Buchanan Award Watch List can undergo a second revision on Oct. 25. Ballots will be sent to a panel of nearly 200 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries after the regular season on Nov. 22.

The Sports Network also presents the Walter Payton and Eddie Robinson awards which are sponsored by Fathead. The Payton Award honors the FCS player of the year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS coach of the year. Those two awards, like the Buchanan, will be presented at the national awards banquet.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago