Holmes Named To 2011 Buchanan Award Watch List

Tyler Holmes headlines the 2011 Buchanan Award Watch List.

Tyler Holmes headlines the 2011 Buchanan Award Watch List.

July 18, 2011

PHILADELPHIA - The race for the 2011 Buck Buchanan Award, sponsored by, kicked off Monday when The Sports Network announced Massachusetts' senior middle linebacker Tyler Holmes was among a stellar 20-player Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision's top individual defensive honor. Holmes led UMass last season with 110 tackles, five sacks and five interceptions earning multiple All-American and National Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The native of Blacksburg, Va., was a fifth-place finisher for the Buchanan Award last season. He was the Colonial Athletic Association Co-Defensive Player of the Year and earned All-American honors from The Sports Network, the AFCA, the Associated Press and College Sporting News.

In three seasons at UMass, Holmes has accumulated 243 tackles including 116 solo stops and 20 tackles for loss. He has 10 career interceptions and six sacks in 27 total games.

New Hampshire's Matt Evans (linebacker) and Brian McNalley (defensive end) were the other CAA representatives on the list.

Holmes and the Minutemen will kick-off the 2011 season on Thursday, Sept. 1 at Holy Cross. Kick-off is set for 8 PM as the game will be televised nationally on the CBS Sports Network. Season tickets are currently on sale by calling 866-UMASS-TIX or by Ordering Online.

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - The race for the 2011 Buck Buchanan Award, sponsored by, kicked off Monday with The Sports Network's announcement that six returning finalists from last season are part of a stellar 20-player Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision's top individual defensive honor.



The Buchanan Award is in its 17th season and will be presented to the FCS' outstanding defensive player at the national awards banquet Thursday night, Jan. 5 in Frisco, Texas.

This season's winner will join a list of Buchanan Award greats such as Dexter Coakley, Jared Allen, Rashean Mathis, Kroy Biermann and 2010 winner J.C. Sherritt of Eastern Washington.

Wofford defensive end Ameet Pall tied for second in the voting last season and returns to the Watch List as a senior. Also returning, presumably headed to banner seasons again, are New Hampshire junior linebacker Matt Evans, who was fourth; Massachusetts senior linebacker Tyler Holmes, who was fifth; San Diego senior defensive end Mario Kurn, who was sixth; Georgia Southern junior nose tackle Brent Russell, who was 12th; and Montana senior cornerback Trumaine Johnson, who was 19th.

The most-represented position is linebacker with six. In addition to Evans and Holmes, the others are seniors Kadarron Anderson of Furman and A.J. Storms of Idaho State, and juniors Keith Pough of Howard and Derek Rose of Northwestern State.

There are five defensive ends. Joining Pall and Kurn are seniors Brian McNally of New Hampshire and Zack Nash of Sacramento State, and junior Ben Obaseki of Indiana State.

Also from the defensive line are senior tackles Renard Williams of reigning FCS champion Eastern Washington and Ben Boothby of Northern Iowa, who join Russell.

The Watch List has six senior defensive backs. Five are cornerbacks - Johnson, Jeremy Caldwell of Eastern Kentucky, Moses Ellis of Prairie View A&M, Asa Jackson of Cal Poly and Ryan Steed of Furman - and one is a strong safety, Matt Johnson of Eastern Washington.

Among the returning vote-getters, Pall finished eighth in the FCS after collecting 22.5 tackles for loss and 12.5 sacks. Evans was the only sophomore on last year's ballot, posting 156 tackles for the second-highest single- season total in New Hampshire history and finishing fifth in the FCS in tackles per game (12.0). Holmes had 110 tackles, including 12 for loss, and five interceptions for the Minutemen, who are playing their final season in the FCS this year.

Also, Kurn led the FCS with 17 sacks and had 27 tackles for loss. Russell helped Georgia Southern reach the FCS semifinals last season, while totaling 71 tackles, including 18.5 for loss and eight sacks, with five quarterback hurries. Johnson enters his senior season with 13 career interceptions, including four last year.

The Buchanan Award Watch List will undergo revision during the 2011 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of about 200 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries after the regular season on Nov. 21.

The Sports Network also presents the Walter Payton, Jerry Rice and Eddie Robinson awards which are sponsored by The Payton Award (FCS outstanding player) and Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) are celebrating their 25th anniversaries, while the Rice Award (FCS freshman of the year) is in its inaugural season.


    Event Calendar

    July 25
    vs Gridiron Club Golf Event, Pine Hills G.C. TBA
    September 3
    at Florida TBA
    September 10
    vs Boston College 12:00 PM
    September 17
    vs Florida International TBA
    September 24
    vs Mississippi State TBA
    October 1
    vs Tulane TBA
    October 8
    at Old Dominion TBA
    October 15
    vs Louisiana Tech TBA
    October 22
    at South Carolina TBA
    October 29
    vs Wagner TBA
    November 5
    at Troy TBA
    November 19
    at BYU TBA
    November 26
    at Hawai'i TBA
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago