Punter Colter Johnson Named To Ray Guy Watch List

Colter Johnson was named to the 2013 Ray Guy Watch List on Wednesday.

Colter Johnson was named to the 2013 Ray Guy Watch List on Wednesday.

July 10, 2013

AMHERST, Mass. - UMass football senior punter Colter Johnson was named to the Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List as announced by the Augusta Sports Council on Wednesday morning. Johnson becomes the first Minuteman in program history to earn a spot on a preseason FBS award watch list. The Ray Guy Award honors the nation's top collegiate punter with Johnson being one of 25 candidates announced.

Earlier this preseason, Johnson was named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) 2013 Punter Trophy Watch List and to the Phil Steele Preseason All Mid-American Conference Team.

After averaging 43.6 yards per punt last season to lead the MAC, Johnson was one of three UMass players to earn All-MAC honors being picked to the third team.

He finished his first campaign at UMass with 66 punts for 2,880 yards with 19 punts going 50-or-more yards. He showed his ability to put opposing offenses in tough situations by dropping 16 punts inside the Red Zone.

A native of Warren, Pa., Johnson began his collegiate career at Alfred State (N.Y.) where he handled punting and place kicking duties. The 6-foot-5, 195 pounder was one of the top special team's players in the NJCAA in his two years with the Pioneers.

Johnson and the Minutemen will begin the 2013 season at Wisconsin on Aug. 31 in Madison, Wis. Kick-off is slated for 11:00 AM CST. The UMass Alumni Association is offering a special Ticket & Tailgate Package for the game.

Season tickets (Club Level & Lower Level) and individual game tickets (Lower Level) are on sale now for UMass' six home games at Gillette Stadium. Fans can order both online by visiting or by calling 866-UMASS-TIX (866-862-7784).



Augusta, GA (July 10, 2013) - The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation's top collegiate punter.

The 25 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. Returning Ray Guy Award semifinalists from 2012 include Kyle Christy (Florida), Steven Clark (Auburn) Tyler Williams (Marshall) and Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State).

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on November 8. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on November 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 12, 2013.

2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
· Steven Clark (Sr.), Auburn
· Pat O'Donnell (Gr.), Miami (Fl.)
· Darragh O'Neill (Jr.), Colorado
· Will Monday (So.), Duke
· Trent Tignor (Sr.), East Carolina
· Kyle Christy (Jr.), Florida
· Richie Leone (Sr.), Houston
· Justin DuVernois (Jr.), Illinois
· Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.), Iowa State
· Anthony Melchiori (So.), Kent State
· Landon Foster (So.), Kentucky
· Tyler Williams (So.), Marshall
· Colter Johnson (Sr.), Massachusetts
· Tom Hornsey (Sr.), Memphis
· Mike Sadler (Jr.), Michigan State
· Ben Skaer (Sr.), New Mexico
· Cayle Chapman-Brown (Sr.), New Mexico State
· Thomas Hibbard (Jr.), North Carolina
· Keith Kostol (Jr.), Oregon State
· Cody Webster (Sr.), Purdue
· Harrison Waid (Sr.), San Jose State
· Mike Loftus (Jr.), SMU
· Ethan Perry (So.), TCU
· Hunter Mullins (Jr.), UAB
· Michael Bowlin (Sr.), Washington State

Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team's success.

Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thurs., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O'Brien Award
Thurs., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago