Morin Elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Milton Morin was recently elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Milton Morin was recently elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

May 11, 2010

DALLAS, TX - On Tuesday afternoon, the College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2010 Divisional class, including UMass tight end Milt Morin. Morin played for the Minutemen from 1963-1965, helping to lead UMass to both an undefeated season in 1963 and the team's first postseason birth at the 1964 Tangerine Bowl.

As a wrestler and member of the lacrosse team, Morin was a three-sport athlete while in Amherst, as well as a two time All-American. Named an All-Conference selection three times, Morin helped to lead UMass to three Yankee Conference Championships. Continuing with the accolades, Morin was named First Team All-East and First Team All-New England player in consecutive seasons.

Being the first UMass player ever to be drafted in the first round, Morin spent ten years with the Cleveland Browns. While an elite member of the NFL, Morin was named to the Pro Bowl three times and ranked among the team's elite in receiving yards (4,208) and receptions (271).

The chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, Archie Manning praised the incoming class, "The 2010 Divisional Hall of Fame Class consists of players and coaches who have defined excellence in our sport," said Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. "We share the pride felt by their families, friends and schools and look forward to immortalizing their achievements in college football's ultimate shrine."

Morin joins Emerson Boozer (Maryland Eastern Shore), Troy Brown (Marshall), and Brian Kelly (California Lutheran), in the incoming 2010 class.




    Event Calendar

    July 25
    vs Gridiron Club Golf Event, Pine Hills G.C. TBA
    September 3
    at Florida TBA
    September 10
    vs Boston College 12:00 PM
    September 17
    vs Florida International TBA
    September 24
    vs Mississippi State TBA
    October 1
    vs Tulane TBA
    October 8
    at Old Dominion TBA
    October 15
    vs Louisiana Tech TBA
    October 22
    at South Carolina TBA
    October 29
    vs Wagner TBA
    November 5
    at Troy TBA
    November 19
    at BYU TBA
    November 26
    at Hawai'i TBA
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago