Men's Basketball

Massachusetts To Retire Marcus Camby's No. 21 Jersey

Marcus Camby blocked 336 shots in three seasons at UMass.

Marcus Camby blocked 336 shots in three seasons at UMass.

Nov. 13, 2012

AMHERST, Mass. - The Massachusetts athletic department has announced that it will retire the jersey of 1996 Naismith National Player of the Year Marcus Camby on Jan. 19, 2013 when the Minutemen host George Washington at the Mullins Center.

One of the most decorated athletes UMass has ever produced, Camby lettered from 1993-96 and led the Minutemen to the 1996 NCAA Final Four and a 35-2 record, the most successful season in program history. He was named a consensus first-team All-American that season as he averaged 20.5 points to lead the Atlantic 10. In his three seasons at UMass, he was a two-time NABC All-District selection, an Atlantic 10 First-Team pick twice and the league's Freshman of the Year in 1994.

He left UMass as the school's all-time leader in blocked shots in a career (336) and single-season (128). Camby scored 1,387 points in his career to rank in the top 10 after his final season for the Maroon & White.

The Minutemen won the Atlantic 10 regular-season and tournament championship in each of his three seasons. Camby was named to the ESPN Silver Anniversary All-Time Atlantic 10 Team in 2004.

He was the highest NBA Draft Pick in UMass history, being taken second overall by the Toronto Raptors in 1996. He is currently in his 17th season in the NBA with the Denver Nuggets, Los Angeles Clippers, Portland Trailblazers, Houston Rockets and his current team New York Knicks twice. The Hartford, Conn. native was named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year in the 2006-07 season.

He was inducted in the UMass Athletic Hall of Fame with the Class of 2010.

This will be the fifth men's basketball jersey retired at UMass and ninth in school history. Previous hoops numbers to be hung at the South end of the Mullins Center include George "Trigger" Burke (#32), Julius Erving (#32), Lou Roe (#15) and Al Skinner (#30). Additionally, Dick Bergquist in baseball (#26), Danielle Henderson in softball (#44), Greg Minton in water polo (#6) and Eric Sopracasa (#43) in men's lacrosse have had their jerseys retired in their respective sports.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago