Men's Basketball

The 100 Seasons Of UMass Basketball All-Time Teams Announced For Classic Era

The late Joe Lojko is part of the All-Time Team for the Classic Era.

The late Joe Lojko is part of the All-Time Team for the Classic Era.

Oct. 27, 2008

  • Buy Individual Game Tickets For UMass Basketball | 2008-09 Schedule

    AMHERST, Mass. -- As part of the 100 Seasons Of UMass Basketball, the all-time teams as selected by a panel of media members have been chosen. During this week, the teams will announced starting with the Classic Era team spanning 1899-1959, including a separate team for the 1950s. The individuals will be honored at their season celebration on Dec. 6 against Boston College. In the coming weeks, Fan voting here on will take place, so be sure to check back for your chance to vote for the "Fans' All-Time Team."

    The 1960s team will announced on Tuesday.

    Classic Era (1899-1949)
    Lou Bush
    Fritz Ellert
    Emory Grayson
    Joe Lojko
    Edward McGrath

    The Classic Era (1899-1949) consists of Lou Bush, Fritz Ellert, Emory Grayson, Joe Lojko and Edward McGrath. All these players have been inducted into the UMass Hall of Fame and were dominant players in their respective playing careers.

    Lou Bush (1932-34) is an original member of the UMass Hall of Fame. He was a member of UMass' only undefeated basketball team that went 12-0 in 1934. He was named an honorable mention All-American in 1934 after averaging 13.9 points.

    Fritz Ellert (1927-29), a member of the UMass Hall of Fame, also coached UMass basketball for three seasons (1930-31, 1932-33, 1940-41). During his playing days, Ellert was a two-time captain of the UMass basketball team, guiding the 1929-30 squad to an 11-3 mark.

    Emory Grayson (1917,1920) earned eight letters in UMass history in three sports while competing in two others. He played both forward and center on the basketball team, and captained his freshman squad. Upon graduation, he went on to play professionally with the Easthampton team in the Interstate League, a league which included the Original Celtics.



    Joe Lojko (1932-34) helped the UMass hoop squad to an undefeated 12-0 record in 1934, the only major New England school to ever have an undefeated season. His basket lifted UMass to a 28-27 win over Amherst College to preserve the undefeated season. The basketball team was 28-12 in his three years.

    Edward McGrath (1947-49) was inducted into the UMass Hall of Fame in 2008. He was a three-year starter in basketball, at forward in 1943 and 1947 and then at center in 1948. He came off the bench as a senior captain in 1949 in winning the Richards Memorial Cup.

    Trigger Burke
    Dick Eid
    Jack Foley
    Ned Larkin
    Bill Prevey

    Trigger Burke (1955-56) was a member of the All-Yankee Conference First Team in 1955 and a member of the All-Yankee Second Team in 1956. Burke is one of four UMass players to have their jersey (No. 32) retired. He tallied 805 points in just two seasons of basketball at UMass, averaging 17.1 points in 47 games. Burke was also named first team All-East, first team All-New England, first team All-Yankee Conference, and first team All-Boston Garden. He was the first player ever to lead UMass in both scoring and assists in the same season.

    Dick Eid (1954-56) was awarded a spot on the All-Yankee Conference First Team in 1954 as a sophomore. He averaged 11.2 points in his career spanning 55 games. He also averaged 7.9 rebounds per game, grabbing 434.

    Jack Foley (1955-57) was the first player in school history to net 1,000 points. He was a member of the Yankee Conference First Team in 1957 and All-Yankee Conference Second Team in 1956. He scored 1,081 points at UMass, which is now 30th in school history. He was inducted into the UMass Hall of Fame in 2008.

    Ned Larkin (1957-59) earned first team All-Yankee Conference honors as a senior in 1958-59 and honorable mention recognition as a sophomore. He scored 870 career points and pulled down 441 rebounds in 83 career outings as a member of the Minuteman basketball team, and graduated as the second all-time leading scorer in school history. Larkin led UMass in scoring as a senior with 13.5 ppg. He was selected to play in the Hall of Fame All-Star game following his senior season which pitted New England's finest against Boston's best.

    Bill Prevey (1949-52) was a first team all-Yankee Conference member and All-New England selection as a senior in 1952. Prevey totaled 836 career points during his career, a mark which was the best in school history at that time and stood as the school record until Jack Foley broke it five years later. As a senior, Prevey averaged 22.6 ppg, a mark which ranked fifth nationally among small colleges, and still ranks as the fourth-best single-season mark in school history. He had three 30-point outings, including a career-high 39-point outburst against Rhode Island in his final season, which ranks as the second-best single-game effort in school history. For his career, Prevey averaged 17.8 ppg, which ranks fifth-best in UMass annals. Prevey was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001.

    The media panel consisted of: Dick Bresciani (UMass alum, UMass Hall of Fame, UMass Hall of Fame Selection Committee, UMass Sports Information Office, Boston Red Sox Public Relations & Front Office), Ron Chimelis (Springfield Union News & Republican beat writer), Howie Davis (UMass alum, UMass Sports Information Office, UMass Basketball official scorer), Marty Dobrow (Boston Globe beat writer, former Daily Hampshire Gazette writer, author of Going Bigtime), George Miller (Greenfield Recorder writer, former UMass radio broadcaster), Jerry Radding (Associated Press writer, former Springfield Union-News writer) and Matt Vautour (UMass alum, Daily Hampshire Gazette beat writer). Jason Yellin (current Associate A.D./Media Relations) served as the chairman of the committee.


      Event Calendar

      September 19
      vs Court Club Golf Event, Orchards G.C. TBA
      • Loading Tweets...
        1 second ago