Men's Basketball

2013 Charleston Classic Bracket Announced

Junior Cady Lalanne.

Junior Cady Lalanne.

July 17, 2013

  • Travel & Ticket Information
  • Complete Bracket (pdf)
  • ESPN Bracket Breakdown With Andy Katz and Seth Greenberg
  • AMHERST, Mass. - The 2013 Charleston Classic officially announced the bracket and television schedule Wednesday. The event will take place at the TD Arena in Charleston, S.C., Nov. 21-24.

    Massachusetts will open play against Nebraska on Thursday, Nov. 21. The teams will meet for the first time when they open the tournament at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Time. The game will be aired on ESPN3. The winner will face the winner of the UAB-New Mexico game on Friday at 2:30 p.m, while the losers will play at Noon.

    The remaining first round matchups include Georgia and future Atlantic 10 member Davidson at 5 p.m., and former A-10 rival Temple against Clemson at 7:30 p.m.

    The Minutemen have an all-time record of 78-69 in regular-season tournaments, including a 8-8 record in Derek Kellogg's five years at the helm.

    The Minutemen are a combined 26-50 against the other seven teams in the classic (0-1 vs. UAB, 0-1 vs. Clemson, 4-4 vs. Davidson, 22-44 vs. Temple.; Never faced Georgia, Nebraska or New Mexico).

    Previous Atlantic 10 teams to participate in the event include Temple in 2008, La Salle in 2009, Charlotte in 2010, Saint Joseph's in 2011 and Dayton in 2012. George Mason in 2010 and VCU in 2011 have also been in the event when they were members of the CAA.

    UMass is coming off its second-consecutive 20-plus win season and has participated in the National Invitation Tournament each of the last two years.

    2013 Charleston Classic schedule

    Thursday, Nov. 21
    12:30 PM - Nebraska vs. UMass (Game 1), ESPN3
    3:00 PM - UAB vs. New Mexico (Game 2), ESPNU
    5:00 PM - Georgia vs. Davidson (Game 3), ESPNU
    7:30 PM - Clemson vs. Temple (Game 4), ESPN3

    Friday, Nov. 22
    12:00 PM - Game 5 (Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser), ESPNU or ESPN3
    2:30 PM - Game 6 (Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner), ESPN2 or ESPNU
    7:00 PM - Game 7 (Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser), ESPN3
    9:30 PM - Game 8 (Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner), ESPNU

    Sunday, Nov. 24
    1:30 PM - Game 9 (Game 5 loser vs. Game 7 loser), ESPN3
    3:30 PM - Game 10 (Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 winner), ESPN3
    6:30 PM - Game 11 (Game 6 loser vs. Game 8 loser), ESPNU
    9:00 PM - Game 12 (Championship, Game 6 winner vs. Game 8 winner), ESPN2



    **** Complete Release from ESPN Regional ****

    Bracket Announced for 2013 Charleston Classic Championship Game to Air Sunday, Nov. 24 on ESPN2

    The bracket for the 2013 Charleston Classic - to be played Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 21, 22 & 24, at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. - has been set for the eight competing teams: UAB, Clemson, Davidson, Georgia, UMass, Nebraska, New Mexico and Temple.

    ESPN3 will have five exclusive games and ESPNU will air four, while the Championship Game will be shown on Sunday, Nov. 24 at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

    The 2013 Charleston Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format.

    Tournament highlights:
    • In's early men's preseason top 25 poll, New Mexico is ranked No. 17 and will face UAB in first-round action at 3 p.m. on ESPNU
    • Also on ESPNU, the Georgia vs. Davidson game at 5 p.m. and Temple vs. Clemson at 7 p.m.
    • ESPN3 will carry the Nebraska vs. UMass game at 12:30 p.m.
    • Temple made a NCAA Championship third round appearance, while Davidson and New Mexico advanced to the second round.
    • Temple and Clemson faced off in the 2008 Charleston Classic Championship Game with Clemson winning the title.

    Discounted hotel accommodations as well as game tickets are now available for fans traveling to Charleston. Visit or call 888-632-6951 to make your reservation today.

    The Charleston Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

    Colorado won the 2012 tournament title. Previous winners include Clemson (2008), Miami (2009) and Georgetown (2010) and Northwestern (2011).

    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago