Men's Basketball

Chaz Williams Named To A-10 All-Conference First Team For Third Time

Chaz Williams

Chaz Williams

March 11, 2014

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Massachusetts senior Chaz Williams was named to the Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team as voted on by the league coaches and announced by the league office on Tuesday, marking the third-consecutive year he has earned first team honors.

Williams leads UMass in scoring (15.8 ppg), assists (7.1 apg), steals (1.4 spg), FT made (130, 4.3/gm) and minutes (35.1 mpg). He also ranks among the A-10 leaders in scoring (5th), assists (1st), steals (6th) and assist-to-turnover ratio (t-1st, 2.2).

On Sunday he became the school's all-time assist leader and now has 687 in 100 games. He also sits in 26th place in NCAA Division I history with 825 over his four years of college.

The Brooklyn, N.Y. native is the 56th first team all-conference selection in school history and just the fourth to earn three-straight, joining Al Skinner, Jim McCoy, Lou Roe and Rashaun Freeman. UMass now has 22 first team honorees since the league's inception prior to the 1976-77 season.

Since the A-10 began, there have now been just eight players earn three first team awards - Rodney Blake of Saint Joseph's (1986-88), Mark Macon of Temple (1988-91), McCoy (1990-92), Roe (1993-95), David West of Xavier (2001-03), Jameer Nelson of Saint Joseph's (2002-04), Freeman (2005-07) and now Williams.

For Williams, it marks the fourth career postseason honor following his selection to the past two year's A-10 All-Conference First Team and the Colonial Athletic Association All-Rookie Team when he played at Hofstra during the 2009-10 campaign.

Complete A-10 release...

Jett, Weber, Crews Win Top A-10 Men's Basketball Awards

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. -- Saint Louis senior guard Jordair Jett was voted the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Player of the Year and VCU junior guard Briante Weber was voted the A-10's Defensive Player of the Year in the league's annual postseason men's basketball awards. Announced Tuesday, the conference also honored Saint Louis coach Jim Crews as Coach of the Year.



The other major awards announced Tuesday include Rookie of the Year, which was shared by Rhode Island's E.C. Matthews and Saint Joseph's DeAndre' Bembry. George Washington's Kevin Larsen was selected as the Chris Daniels Most Improved Player and the Sixth Man Award went to Melvin Johnson of VCU.

The awards, along with the All-Conference, All-Defensive and All-Rookie teams were voted on by the league's 13 head coaches. The All-Academic Team was selected by a vote of the A-10's men's basketball media relations directors.

Jett led the Billikens to a 26-win season, including a school-record 19 straight wins. He ranked top 20 in the Atlantic 10 in scoring and top 10 in assists (third - 4.7 apg) and steals (sixth-1.5 spg). A native of St. Paul, Minn., he was also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Weber was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight year after leading the nation in steals during the regular season. Weber, a native of Chesapeake, Va., averaged 3.6 steals per game (he currently has 111) and he set the A-10 single season and VCU career steals records.

Crews, last year's NABC Coach of the Year, was named A-10 Coach of the Year for the second straight year. He led the Billikens to 19 straight wins and SLU's second straight Atlantic 10 regular season title with a 13-3 league record and a 26-5 overall mark. Saint Louis also has one of the best road records in the nation at 11-1.

Matthews was named A-10 Rookie of the Week seven times this season. He ranked 15th in scoring and was second on Rhode Island at 14.4 ppg. A guard from Detroit, Mich., he scored 20 or more points nine times this season. Bembry led the Hawks in steals and was third in scoring, rebounding, assists and blocked shots. A forward from Charlotte, N.C., he was twice named A-10 Rookie of the Week and played a key role in Saint Joseph's 21-win regular season.

Larsen, a sophomore forward from Copenhagen, Denmark, averaged 11.3 points and 7.1 rebounds during the regular season. This is a jump from last year's 8.5 points and 5.0 rebounds per game and one of the reasons for GW's jump to third place at 11-5 in league play and 23-7 overall.

Johnson came off the bench in all but five games this season, but still managed to average 10.5 ppg, making him third in scoring for VCU. A sophomore guard from the Bronx, N.Y., he ranked in the top 10 in the league in 3-pointers made.

Tickets for the championship can be purchased through Ticketmaster,, or at the Barclays Center Box Office.

2014 Atlantic 10 Men's Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

Defensive Player of the Year: Briante Weber, VCU

Co-Rookies of the Year: DeAndre' Bembry, Saint Joseph's; E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Chris Daniels Most Improved Player: Kevin Larsen, George Washington

Sixth Man Award: Melvin Johnson, VCU

Coach of the Year: Jim Crews

All-Academic Team
John Kopriva, George Washington
Nemanja Mikic, George Washington
Gilvydas Biruta, Rhode Island
Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis
Jake Barnett, Saint Louis

First Team All-Conference
Chaz Williams, UMass

Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph's
Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis
Jordair Jett, Saint Louis
Treveon Graham, VCU

Second Team All-Conference
Isaiah Armwood, George Washington
Tyreek Duren, LaSalle
Kendall Anthony, Richmond
Halil Kanacevic, Saint Joseph's
Juvonte Reddic, VCU

Third Team All-Conference
Devin Oliver, Dayton
Ovie Soko, Duquesne
Maurice Creek, George Washington
Patricio Garino, George Washington
Ronald Roberts, Jr., Saint Joseph's

All-Defensive Team
Isaiah Armwood, George Washington
Patricio Garino, George Washington
Steve Zack, LaSalle
Jordair Jett, Saint Louis
Briante Weber, VCU

All-Rookie Team
Jon Severe, Fordham
Jalen Jenkins, George Mason
Hassan Martin, Rhode Island
E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island
DeAndre' Bembry, Saint Joseph's

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago